Home   /   About UAEU   /   UNIVERSITY COUNCIL   /   members

Dr Abdulla Al Karam

Chairman of the Board of Directors and Director General

af

Dr Abdulla Al Karam is Chairman of the Board of Directors and Director General of the Knowledge and Human Development Authority (KHDA), responsible for the quality and growth of Dubai’s private education sector, including early learning centres, schools, universities and training institutes.

 Dr Al Karam is a board member of the National Qualifications Authority of the UAE Federal Government, as well as United Arab Emirates University.

He is a board member of the Social Sector, Government of Dubai and is a member of the Higher Committee for Protection of the Rights of People with Disabilities. He is also a member of the Board of Trustees of the Dubai Future Foundation and the Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Health Sciences.
 
Previously, Dr. Abdulla held positions in various government sectors, including that of Vice Chairman and Secretary General for the Hamdan Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Award for Distinguished Academic Performance, Chairman of the Dubai Government’s Human Resources Committee and board member of the Dubai Knowledge Fund.

Prior to the formation of KHDA, Dr. Abdulla held the post of CEO of Dubai Knowledge Village and was also Head of Research at Dubai Internet City. He began his career as a software engineer in the United States and France.

Dr. Abdulla holds a PhD in computer engineering from the University of South Carolina.

Apr 27, 2017

الدكتور عبد الله محمد الكرم

رئيس مجلس المديرين – المدير العام
af

يشغل الدكتور عبد الله الكرم منصب رئيس مجلس المديرين ومدير عام هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية، ويتولى مع فريق العمل مهمة الارتقاء بقطاع التعليم الخاص في إمارة دبي، والذي يتضمن مراكز التعليم المبكر والمدارس الخاصة ومؤسسات التعليم العالي والمؤسسات التدريبية.

يتولى الدكتور الكرم عضوية العديد من المجالس واللجان في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث أنه عضو في مجلس إدارة الهيئة الوطنية للمؤهلات، وعضو مجلس جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

كما يتولى الدكتور عبدالله الكرم عضوية لجنة التنمية الاجتماعية التابعة للمجلس التنفيذي لحكومة دبي، وعضوية اللجنة العليا لحماية حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة في إمارة دبي. بالإضافة إلى عضوية مجلس أمناء مؤسسة دبي المستقبل ومجلس أمناء جامعة محمد بن راشد للطب والعلوم الصحية.

شغل الكرم مناصب عدة، منها توليه منصب نائب الرئيس والأمين العام لجائزة حمدان بن راشد آل مكتوم للأداء التعليمي المتميز، ورئيس لجنة دبي للموارد البشرية الحكومية، بالإضافة إلى عضوية مجلس إدارة صندوق المعرفة.

قبل إنشاء الهيئة شغل الدكتور عبد الله الكرم منصب الرئيس التنفيذي لقرية المعرفة في دبي، كما ترأس وحدة الأبحاث في مدينة دبي للإنترنت. وعمل قبلها مهندس برمجيات في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وفرنسا.

الدكتور عبد الله الكرم حاصل على شهادة الدكتوراة في هندسة الحاسوب من جامعة ساوث كارولينا في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

May 17, 2017