ESP Courses

Academic Reading and Writing Course

3 Credit Hours

ESPU 102

English for Science

ESPU 103

English for Education

ESPU 104

English for Business & Economics

ESPU 106

English for Food & Agriculture

ESPU 107

English for Engineering

ESPU 1014

English for Humanities & Social Sciences  

ESPU 1081

English for Information Technology 1

The aim of this mobile-learning enhanced course is to help improve reading and writing skills so that students will be able to write an academic essay based on research. Students read and study different essay models, as well as learn about the stages of the writing process. To write an essay based on research, students must learn how to use other writers’ ideas without copying them exactly: this is called paraphrasing. Students must also show where they got their information: this is called citation. This course teaches the correct way to do these things.

Prerequisite for all courses: ENGU 1304

ESPU 1052: English for Law 1

3 Credit Hours

This mobile-learning enhanced course aims to help students understand English legal terminology with particular reference to contracts, international agreements and basic business law. In order to make authentic documents linguistically accessible to students, it focuses primarily on vocabulary extension and developing knowledge of key legal English concepts. It acknowledges the difficult nature of legal English and seeks to lead students towards effective strategies for independent language learning that they may need to employ in their future legal work.

Prerequisite: ENGU 1304

ESPU 1472: English for Law 2

3 Credit Hours

Building on ESPU 1052, this mobile-learning enhanced course seeks to lead students toward effective strategies for vocabulary acquisition, understanding legal texts and improving oral communication in English. English legal terminology is studied with particular reference to business law, focusing primarily on key areas of vocabulary extension, reading and spoken lawyer-to-client communication.

Prerequisite: ESPU 1052

COMS 230: Communication Skills for Education

3 Credit Hours

This mobile-learning enhanced course is designed to increase future teachers’ confidence and effectiveness in communicating in spoken English. The major focus is on developing the key presentation skills a successful presenter or teacher needs. These skills include producing the authentic sounds and rhythms of spoken English and using visual aids correctly. Students will learn how to do honest and authentic action research, as well as academic research. They will also complete reflective writing tasks to develop critical thinking and self-evaluation skills and to improve their written communications in English.

Prerequisite: ESPU 103

COMS 235: Communication Skills for Business

3 Credit Hours

This mobile-learning enhanced course aims to maximize student practice and production in communication for an academic or professional setting. It is intended to promote the acquisition of new skills and language relevant to oral communication in a variety of practical settings and, in particular, to improve student confidence in planning and delivering oral presentations in English.

Prerequisite: ESPU 104

ESPU 240: Business Writing in English

3 Credit Hours

The aims of this mobile-learning enhanced course are twofold: to develop professional writing and presentation skills for business. Workplace writing, specifically the improvement of business etiquette, audience-appropriate language and content will be targeted, as well as academic writing with a focus on research, referencing and citations. Professional presentation skills that focus on content appropriateness, organization, media choice and effective delivery will also be covered.

Prerequisite: COMS 235

ESPU 1432: Communication Skills for Science

3 Credit Hours

This mobile-learning enhanced course is designed to develop and improve skills and competencies in English communication. It focuses on improving speaking and associated non-verbal skills with particular reference to the design, preparation and delivery of college-appropriate presentations for a specific audience. These skills include producing the authentic sounds and rhythms of spoken English and using visual aids correctly. The course also aims to promote collaborative learning, critical thinking and a realistic and ethical approach to research. Students also complete reflective writing tasks to develop thinking and self-evaluation skills and to improve their written communications in English.

Prerequisite: ESPU 102

ESPU 1442: Communication Skills for Food & Agriculture

3 Credit Hours

This mobile-learning enhanced course is designed to develop and improve skills and competencies in English communication. It focuses on improving speaking and associated non-verbal skills with particular reference to the design, preparation and delivery of college-appropriate presentations for a specific audience. These skills include producing the authentic sounds and rhythms of spoken English and using visual aids correctly. The course also aims to promote collaborative learning, critical thinking and a realistic and ethical approach to research. Students also complete reflective writing tasks to develop thinking and self-evaluation skills and to improve their written communications in English.

Prerequisite: ESPU 106

ESPU 1452: Communication Skills for Engineering

3 Credit Hours

This mobile-learning enhanced course is designed to develop and improve skills and competencies in English communication. It focuses on improving speaking and associated non-verbal skills with particular reference to the design, preparation and delivery of college-appropriate presentations for a specific audience. These skills include producing the authentic sounds and rhythms of spoken English and using visual aids correctly. The course also aims to promote collaborative learning, critical thinking and a realistic and ethical approach to research. Students also complete reflective writing tasks to develop thinking and self-evaluation skills and to improve their written communications in English.

Prerequisite: ESPU 107

ESPU 1462: Communication Skills for Humanities & Social Sciences

3 Credit Hours

This mobile-learning enhanced course is designed to develop and improve skills and competencies in English communication. It focuses on improving speaking and associated non-verbal skills with particular reference to the design, preparation and delivery of college-appropriate presentations for a specific audience. These skills include producing the authentic sounds and rhythms of spoken English and using visual aids correctly. The course also aims to promote collaborative learning, critical thinking and a realistic and ethical approach to research. Students also complete reflective writing tasks to develop thinking and self-evaluation skills and to improve their written communications in English.

Prerequisite: ESPU 1014.

ESPU 1082: English for Information Technology 2

3 Credit Hours

This mobile-learning enhanced course aims to improve student proficiency in writing well-organized, accurate academic essays. It is organized around IT themes that lead to contrastive essay writing. Emphasis is placed on organizing and developing ideas, reading for information, paraphrasing, referencing, synthesis, structural complexity, as well as grammatical and mechanical accuracy.

Prerequisite: ESPU 1081.

ITBP 261: English for Information Technology 3 (Speaking and Writing)

3 Credit Hours

This mobile-learning enhanced course aims to develop student proficiency in academic/professional writing and oral presentation skills in an IT context. Course materials are drawn from IT-specific professional communication types identified by the IT College. Students learn to write well-organized and coherent IT proposals and technical reports. Students create a poster, based on a key IT technology, to be displayed and discussed in the forum of an exhibition. Students also learn to describe and interpret data, use Internet research properly, edit their own work for correctness, clearly describe processes and organize long (2500-4000 word) academic/professional papers. The course also requires students to present their ideas in formal seminar situations.

Prerequisite: ESPU 1082.

May 18, 2014

مساقات اللغة الإنجليزية لأغراض التخصص

 

مساق القراءة والكتابة الأكاديمية

3 ساعات معتمدة

ESPU   102      اللغة الإنجليزية للعلوم

  ESPU 103      اللغة الإنجليزية للتربية

ESPU    104   اللغة الإنجليزية للإدارة والاقتصاد

ESPU   106   اللغة الإنجليزية للأغذية والزراعة

ESPU   107   اللغة الإنجليزية للهندسة

ESPU 1014    اللغة الإنجليزية للعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية

ESPU 1081   اللغة الإنجليزية لتقنية المعلومات 1

 

إن الهدف من مساق التعليم المتنقل والمتقدم هو المساعدة في تطوير مهارات القراءة والكتابة؛ ليتمكن الطلبة من كتابة مقالات أكاديمية مبنية على أساس بحثي. يقرأ ويدرس الطلبة أشكالاً مختلفة من المقالات، ويتعلمون مراحل عملية الكتابة. لكتابة مقالة مبنية على أساس بحثي، كما يتعلمون استخدام أفكار الكتّاب الآخرين دون نقلها بشكل حرفي، ويسمى ذلك: إعادة الصياغة. ويتدرّب الطلبة على كتابة مصادر معلوماتهم ويسمى هذا بالاقتباس.

 

متطلب سابق لجميع المساقات  ENGU 1304

ESPU 1052 : اللغة الإنجليزية للقانون 1

3 ساعات معتمدة

إن هذا المساق للتعليم المتنقل والمتقدم  يهدف إلى مساعدة الطلبة على فهم المصطلحات القانونية وبشكل خاص في العقود، والاتفاقات الدولية، وقانون الأعمال الأساسي. ويأتي ذلك كله لجعل لغة الوثائق الأصلية متاحة للطلاب، مع التركيز وبشكل أساسي على ملحق المفردات، وتطوير المعرفة في المفاهيم الأساسية في اللغة الإنجليزية القانونية. مع التعرف على الطبيعة الصعبة للغة الإنجليزية القانونية التي تسعى لقيادة الطلبة تجاه الإستراتيجيات الفعالة للتعلم المستقل للغة، والتي سيحتاجون لتوظيفها في عملهم القانوني مستقبلا.

 

متطلب سابق: ENGU 1304

ESPU 1472 : اللغة الإنجليزية للقانون 2

3 ساعات معتمدة

يبني على 1052 ESPU، يسعى هذا المساق للتعليم المتنقل والمتقدم  ويقود الطلاب نحو إستراتيجيات فعالة لاكتساب المفردات، وفهم النصوص القانونية وتحسين الاتصال الشفوي في اللغة الإنجليزية، ودراسة المصطلحات القانونية الإنجليزية مع الإشارة بوجه خاص إلى قانون الأعمال، مع التركيز أساساً على المجالات الرئيسة لتوسيع المفردات، والقراءة، والتحدث للتواصل بين المحامي والعميل.

متطلب سابق: ESPU 1052

 

COMS 230 : مهارات الاتصال للعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية

3 ساعات معتمدة

إن هذا المساق للتعليم المتنقل والمتقدم صمم لتطوير وتحسين المهارات، والكفاءات في الاتصال لمعلمي المستقبل في اللغة الإنجليزية. وللتركيز الرئيسي على تطوير مهارات العرض الرئيسية التي يحتاجها المقدم الناجح أو المعلم. وتشمل هذه المهارات إصدار الأصوات الأصيلة، وإيقاعات اللغة الإنجليزية المنطوقة، واستخدام المعينات البصرية بشكل صحيح. سوف يتعلم الطلاب كيفية القيام بعمل البحوث الأصلية، والبحوث الأكاديمية. وإنهاء مهام الكتابة التي تعكس تطور مهارات التفكير الناقد، والتقييم الذاتي، وتحسين التواصل الكتابي باللغة الإنجليزية.

 

متطلب سابق: ESPU 103

 COMS 235 : مهارات الاتصال للإدارة 

3 ساعات معتمدة

يهدف هذا المساق للتعليم المتنقل والمتقدم إلى توسيع  مشاركة وإنتاجية الطلبة في الاتصال؛ للإعداد المهني والأكاديمي. إلى جانب إكسابهم مهارات جديدة ولغة ذات علاقة بالتواصل الشفهي بطرق عملية شتى، لتطوير ثقة الطلبة في التخطيط، وتقديم العروض الشفهية باللغة الإنجليزية.

متطلب سابق: ESPU    104

ESPU   240 : أعمال كتابة اللغة الإنجليزية

3 ساعات معتمدة

أهداف هذا المساق للتعليم المتنقل والمتقدم تندرج في شقين اثنين: تطوير الكتابة المهنية، ومهارات التقديم للأعمال. الكتابة المتعلقة بالعمل تهدف إلى تحسين أصول آليات العمل، واللغة، والمحتوى المناسب للجمهور المستهدف، والكتابة الأكاديمية مع التركيز على البحث، وكتابة المراجع والاقتباسات. أما مهارات التقديم المهنية فهي تركز على المحتوى المناسب، والمؤسسات، إلى جانب  الاختيار الإعلامي، والتسليم الفعال.

متطلب سابق: COMS 235

ESPU 1432 : مهارات الاتصال للعلوم

3 ساعات معتمدة

صمم هذا المساق للتعليم المتنقل والمتقدم  لتطوير وتحسين المهارات في التواصل باللغة الإنجليزية. حيث يركز على تحسين المحادثة بالتوازي مع المهارات غير الشفهية بالرجوع إلى التصميم، والتحضير، والتسليم للعروض المناسبة للكلية. وتتضمن هذه المهارات إنتاج أصوات وإيقاعات أصيلة للغة الإنجليزية المحكية، واستخدام الوسائل البصرية بطريقة صحيحة. ويهدف هذا المساق أيضاً إلى تعزيز التعليم التعاوني، والتفكير النقدي، مع اتباع نهج واقعي وأخلاقي للأبحاث.  بالإضافة إلى مهارات كتابية تفاعلية لتطوير التفكير، ومهارات التقييم الذاتي؛ لتطوير مهارات التواصل الكتابية باللغة الإنجليزية.

 

متطلب سابق: ESPU 102

ESPU 1442 : مهارات الاتصال للغذاء والزراعة

3 ساعات معتمدة

يهدف هذا المساق للتعليم المتنقل والمتقدم لتطوير وتحسين المهارات في التواصل باللغة الإنجليزية، حيث يركز على تحسين المحادثة بالتوازي مع المهارات غير الشفهية بالرجوع إلى التصميم، وتحضير وتسليم عروض مناسبة للكلية. تتضمن هذه المهارات إنتاج أصوات وإيقاعات أصيلة للغة الإنجليزية المحكية واستخدام الوسائل البصرية بطريقة صحيحة. يهدف هذا المساق أيضاً إلى تعزيز التعليم التعاوني، والتفكير النقدي مع اتباع نهج واقعي وأخلاقي للأبحاث.  بالإضافة إلى مهارات كتابية تفاعلية لتطوير التفكير، ومهارات التقييم الذاتي؛ لتطوير مهارات التواصل الكتابية باللغة الإنجليزية.

متطلب سابقESPU 106

ESPU   1452 : مهارات الاتصال للهندسة

3 ساعات معتمدة

يهدف هذا المساق للتعليم المتنقل والمتقدم لتطوير وتحسين المهارات في التواصل باللغة الإنجليزية، حيث يركز على تحسين المحادثة بالتوازي مع المهارات غير الشفهية بالرجوع إلى التصميم، وتحضير وتسليم عروض مناسبة للكلية. تتضمن هذه المهارات إنتاج أصوات وإيقاعات أصيلة للغة الإنجليزية المحكية واستخدام الوسائل البصرية بطريقة صحيحة. يهدف هذا المساق أيضاً إلى تعزيز التعليم التعاوني، والتفكير النقدي مع اتباع نهج واقعي وأخلاقي للأبحاث.  بالإضافة إلى مهارات كتابية تفاعلية لتطوير التفكير، ومهارات التقييم الذاتي؛ لتطوير مهارات التواصل الكتابية باللغة الإنجليزية.

متطلب سابق: ESPU     107

ESPU 1462: مهارات الاتصال للعلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية

3 ساعات معتمدة

يهدف هذا المساق للتعليم المتنقل والمتقدم لتطوير وتحسين المهارات في التواصل باللغة الإنجليزية، حيث يركز على تحسين المحادثة بالتوازي مع المهارات غير الشفهية بالرجوع إلى التصميم، وتحضير وتسليم عروض مناسبة للكلية. تتضمن هذه المهارات إنتاج أصوات وإيقاعات أصيلة للغة الإنجليزية المحكية واستخدام الوسائل البصرية بطريقة صحيحة. يهدف هذا المساق أيضاً إلى تعزيز التعليم التعاوني، والتفكير النقدي مع اتباع نهج واقعي وأخلاقي للأبحاث.  بالإضافة إلى مهارات كتابية تفاعلية لتطوير التفكير، ومهارات التقييم الذاتي؛ لتطوير مهارات التواصل الكتابية باللغة الإنجليزية.

متطلب سابق: ESPU 1014

 

ESPU 1082 : اللغة الإنجليزية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات 2

 

3 ساعات معتمدة

 

يهدف هذا المساق للتعليم المتنقل والمتقدم إلى تحسين قدرات الطلبة في كتابة مقالات أكاديمية دقيقة ومنظمة. وقد صمم المساق؛ ليعتمد على المواضيع التكنولوجية والتي تفضي إلى كتابة مقالات بنّاءة. ينصب التركيز فيها على تطوير الأفكار وتنظيمها ، وعلى القراءة للحصول على المعلومة، وإعادة الصياغة، واستخدام المراجع، واستخدام التركيب المعقد، وكذلك الدقة النحوية والصياغة الجيدة.

 

متطلب سابق: ESPU 1081

 

ITBP 261  : اللغة الإنجليزية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات 3 (المحادثة والكتابة)

 

3 ساعات معتمدة

يهدف هذا المساق المعزز للتعليم المتنقل إلى تطوير إمكانات الطلبة في الكتابة الأكاديمية، والمهنية، ومهارات العروض الشفهية ضمن سياق تقنية المعلومات. إن مواد المساق مستمدة من أنواع الاتصالات المهنية الخاصة بتقنية المعلومات والمعترف بها من قبل كلية تقنية المعلومات. يتعلم الطلبة كتابة مقترحات تقنية المعلومات بأسلوب منظم ومتماسك. يقوم الطلبة بصنع ملصقات مبنية على أساس تكنولوجيا تقنية المعلومات؛ ليتم لاحقاً عرضها ومناقشتها في شكل معرض. ويتعلم الطلبة أيضاً شرح البيانات وترجمتها، واستخدام البحث عبر الإنترنت بشكل ملائم، وتحرير أعمالهم للوصول إلى الدقة، والشرح بشكل واضح، وتنظيم الأوراق الأكاديمية والمهنية المكونة من (2500-4000) كلمة. يتطلب هذا المساق من الطلبة تقديم أفكارهم الخاصة في حالات الحلقة الدراسية الرسمية.

 

متطلب سابق: ESPU 1082

Aug 20, 2017