Prof. Nihel Chabrak

Professor & Program Director

Promoting growth, inclusiveness and intergenerational wellbeing  

Professor Nihel Chabrak believes we should be looking at new approaches to promote growth alongside social welfare. Development should consider not only the here and now, but how generations to come will be able to shape their future lives.

Professor Chabrak works in the Accounting Department of the College of Business and Economics at the United Arab Emirates University. She is researching how to promote economic connections between macro objectives, such as sustainability, and yet still create more micro incentives for the growth of businesses. In cooperation with colleagues from other well-known international research institutions, she is working on reforming finance, governance and accounting in order to support growth. Growth is about wellbeing as well as development. It is not only measured by GDP but by the dispersion, composition and sustainability of that growth. Policy makers should aim for an inclusiveness that allows people to transform their lives.

Economic growth is an important determinant of wellbeing but it is not the only one. Social and ecological factors are also important indicators of wellbeing, and in some cases, are directly related to it. Countries should pursue sustainable growth so that future generations can enjoy the same level of prosperity as now. Therefore, we should maintain our productive base across generations. This includes human, health and natural capital. According to Professor Chabrak, it is the concept of shareholder value maximization that has aggressively degraded natural capital and created inequalities in the economy and wider society. “An economic framework should reshape corporate behavior to support sustainable growth, which is the real wealth of nations.”

As well as conducting this research, Professor Chabrak is Program Director at the UAEU Science and Innovation Park, where she is promoting value-driven startups and encouraging businesses that are more inclusive and sustainable. Among the startups in the incubation program is Green Steps Energy. This is a UAE startup company founded by four female engineering entrepreneurs. Their vision is to establish a citizenship movement for a greener planet. They have designed an energy generating carpet (called Bezeo) that transforms kinetic energy into electrical energy. Another startup she helped with is Aroma Niche. This is an eco-friendly aromatherapy product which uses plants native to the UAE and Gulf region. This helps to preserve local heritage while offering a unique product.

As UAE team leader for the Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) program - the largest on-going, international research program on entrepreneurship in the world - Professor Chabrak is interested in researching the links between entrepreneurship and wellbeing. With her colleague, Dr. Chafik Bouhaddioui, she has developed a long-term research project using data from the GEM program. The purpose of this research is to examine the potential relationship between entrepreneurship and happiness in the UAE in order to help policy makers evaluate entrepreneurship as a measure of wellbeing and to encourage further growth.

As a Chair of UAEU Committee for Dubai Expo 2020, Professor Chabrak was instrumental in designing the UAEU pavilion. During the Expo the pavilion’s theme will be how to generate 100 million ideas and transform them into 100 million successes.

Professor Chabrak teaches Accounting, Corporate Governance, and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) as well as a Stanford course on Entrepreneurship and Innovation. She is also involved with a unique leadership course that utilizes both ontological and phenomenological approaches.

Before coming to UAEU, Professor Chabrak was living and working in France. She is a joint Tunisian and French citizen. When in France she was an Assistant Professor and then an Associate Professor at the Institut Mines Telecom (2002-2011). Before, that she was a Business and IT consultant. Her studies took her to IHEC Carthage (Tunisia) before attending the University of Paris Dauphine in 1995.

She has enjoyed visiting professorships at the University of Wisconsin, USA; University of Canterbury, New Zealand; Deakin University, and the University of South Australia, Australia.

She has published articles and served on several editorial boards of international journals. She is the co-founder and organizer of the International CSAF Conference (Tunisia, 2009; the UAE, 2013).

Professor Chabrak lives in Al Ain with her cat Candy and looks forward to retiring to a remote island surrounded by dogs and cats.

Share this news
 
Last updated:  Site best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution in I.E 9+, Mozilla 3.5+, Google Chrome 3.0+, Safari 5.0+

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Jul 4, 2018

أ. د. نهال شبراك

مديرة برامج بمنتزه العلوم و الابتكار  

تعتقد الدكتورة نيهال شبراك أن علينا البحث عن طرق جديدة لتعزيز النمو والرفاه الاجتماعي، ولا تقتصر التنمية على الوقت الحالي فحسب بل يجب التفكير في قدرة الأجيال القادمة على رسم مسار حياتها بشكل صحيح.

تعمل الدكتورة نيهال في قسم المحاسبة بكلية الإدارة والاقتصاد بجامعة الإمارات. وتشتمل مواضيع أبحاثها كيفية تعزيز الروابط الاقتصادية بين الأهداف الكبيرة، مثل تحقيق الاستدامة والعمل في نفس الوقت على تقديم المزيد من الحوافز الصغيرة لنمو الأعمال التجارية. وتسعى الدكتورة نيهال بالتعاون مع زملاء من مؤسسات بحثية عالمية مرموقة إلى إصلاح التمويل والحوكمة والمحاسبة لدعم النمو والتنمية الذي لا يُقاس بالناتج المحلي الإجمالي فقط، ولكن يتضمن معايير الانتشار والتكوين والاستدامة. وتعتقد الدكتورة نيهال أنه يجب على صانعي السياسة السعي للوصول إلى الشمولية ومساعدة الناس في تغيير حياتهم.

ويعد النمو الاقتصادي عامل مهم لتحقيق الرفاهية ولكنه ليس العامل الوحيد، حيث تعتبر العوامل الاجتماعية والبيئية عوامل أخرى هامة لتحقيق الرفاهية. وينبغي على البلدان أن تسعى إلى تحقيق النمو المستدام حتى تتمكن الأجيال القادمة من التمتع بنفس المستوى من الرخاء الذي نعيشه الآن. كما يجب الحفاظ على الأساس الإنتاجي عبر الأجيال، وهذا يشمل رأس المال البشري والصحي والطبيعي. ووفقاً للدكتورة نيهال، فإنه "يجب على الإطار الاقتصادي إعادة تشكيل سلوك الشركات لدعم النمو المستدام، وهو الثروة الحقيقية للأمم".

وتشغل الدكتورة نيهال منصب مدير برامج في منتزه جامعة الإمارات للعلوم والابتكار، حيث تعمل على تشجيع الشركات الناشئة ذات القيمة العالية وتشجيع الشركات التي تعتمد على الاستدامة. ومن بين الشركات الناشئة في برنامج الحضانة الشركة الناشئة "Green Steps Energy" والتي قام بتأسيسها أربع مهندسات، حيث قمن بتصميم سجادة مولدة للطاقة "Bezeo" والتي تحول الطاقة الحركية إلى طاقة كهربائية لإنشاء بيئة خضراء مستدامة. وهناك شركة ناشئة أخرى قامت الدكتورة نيهال بمساعدتها وهي "Aroma Niche" التي تقوم بإنتاج منتج عطري صديق للبيئة باستخدام النباتات المحلية في دولة الإمارات ومنطقة الخليج.

ومن موقعها كرئيسة فريق الإمارات لبرنامج مراقبة المشاريع العالمية GEM وهو أكبر برنامج بحث دولي حول ريادة الأعمال في العالم، تهتم الدكتورة نيهال بالبحث حول الروابط بين ريادة الأعمال والرفاهية. وقد قامت الدكتورة نيهال بالتعاون مع الدكتور شفيق بوحديوي لتطوير مشروع بحث باستخدام بيانات من برنامج GEM بهدف دراسة العلاقة المحتملة بين ريادة الأعمال والسعادة في دولة الإمارات، وذلك من أجل مساعدة صانعي السياسة على تقييم ريادة الأعمال كمقياس للرفاهية والتشجيع على المزيد من النمو.

وتعمل الدكتورة نيهال كرئيس للجنة جامعة الإمارات لمعرض دبي إكسبو 2020 على تصميم جناح الجامعة الذي سيكون في المعرض حول كيفية توليد 100 مليون فكرة وتحويلها إلى 100 مليون نجاح.

تُدرِّس الدكتورة نيهال مساقات منها المحاسبة، وحوكمة الشركات، والمسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات، بالإضافة إلى مساق ستانفورد في ريادة الأعمال والابتكار، كما تقوم بتدريس مساق يقوم على استخدام الأساليب المنهجية والظاهرية.

كانت الدكتورة نيهال الفرنسية من أصل تونسي تعمل في فرنسا قبل انضمامها إلى جامعة الإمارات، حيث عملت كأستاذ مساعدة ثم أستاذ مشارك في معهد مين للاتصالات في فرنسا خلال الفترة 2002-2011. كما عملت قبل ذلك مستشارة في مجال الأعمال وتكنولوجيا المعلومات. وقد درست في معهد الدراسات التجارية العليا في تونس ثم جامعة دوفين باريس عام 1995.

كما عملت كأستاذ زائر في جامعة ويسكونسن بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وجامعة كانتربري في نيوزيلندا، وجامعة ديكين، وجامعة جنوب أستراليا. كما أنها نشرت العديد من المقالات، وعملت في العديد من هيئات تحرير المجلات الدولية، وهي المؤسس المشارك والمنظم للمؤتمر العالمي للدراسات النقدية في المحاسبة والاقتصاد والتمويل الذي عُقد في تونس عام 2009 وفي الإمارات عام 2013.

مشاركه هذا الخبر
آخر تحديث للصفحة في    هذا الموقع يمكن تصفحه بالشكل المناسب من خلال شاشة 1024x768 يدعم مايكروسوفت انترنت اكسبلورر 9.0+، فاير فوكس 2.0+، سفاري 3+، جوجل كروم 12.0+

Sorry

There is no English content for this page

Sorry

There is a problem in the page you are trying to access.

Jul 17, 2018