Dr. Ossama Osman

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences 

Dedicated to discovery and development  

Research and responsibility go hand-in-hand for Dr Ossama Osman, as he combines his work in research with service to the community and guiding students to become leaders.

As Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences within the College of Medicine and Health Sciences (CMHS) at the United Arab Emirates University (UAEU), he is a firm believer in translating research and theoretical education into practical use, for the good of society – a belief that has made him an instrumental figure within the UAE’s health sector.

A graduate of the University of Cairo Medical School, he completed four years of accredited residency training in psychiatry at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) School of Medicine in the US, where he made his first impact on the world of research. Conducting studies designed to develop understanding of the biochemical aspect of the effect of medication used to treat his patients, he won a University Excellence Award in the field of research into schizophrenia, and was selected by the US’ prestigious National Institute for Mental Health (NIMH) to undergo three years of research fellowship training in Clinical Psychopharmacology.

Having focused his work on the neurochemical and neuroendocrine mechanisms in mood disorders during his time at NIMH – with his published work contributing to the development of new knowledge on the mechanics of the brain – he served as a full-time faculty member at several US universities for almost a decade. During this time, Dr Osman developed the first schizophrenia research program at Bay Pines VA Medical Center in Florida; returned to SIU to establish an innovative academic and training program in developmental disabilities; and led the creation of clinical and academic programs in community mental health, substance abuse, and developmental disabilities at Mercer University College of Medicine in Georgia. He also became its first Medical Director, opening up educational and training opportunities for both medical students and residents.

Since 2004, however, Dr Osman has called the UAE – and UAEU – home. In his 13 years in Al Ain, he has secured numerous UAEU research grants and collaborated with other researchers at both local and international level, with his partners including institutions such as the Harvard Program for Trauma and Recovery. His research work has involved multidisciplinary studies of disorders in mental health, encompassing obesity, bariatrics, psycho-dermatology, hormonal and trauma-related conditions, and stress, and he is an active member of the Neuroscience Research Priority Group at CMHS.

Just as important as his research work is his commitment to support the career development and wellbeing of students. As a strong advocate for providing innovative avenues along which UAEU graduates can further their careers, and as someone with a long-held interest in academic program development, he established the UAE’s first structured joint psychiatry resident training program in 2004, helping to address an urgent need for specialist psychiatrists within the nation.

Having served as its first faculty director for six years, he saw this program grow to the point where, in 2010, it branched out into three initiatives in different emirates, and was pivotal to its accreditation by the US-based Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. During this time, Dr Osman was chosen to chair the Arab Board of Psychiatry Committee on curriculum development, credentialing and accreditation, and continues to perform a vital liaison function.

In addition, he co-founded the Higher Professional Diploma Program in Psychological Skills and Competencies in Mental Health, a collaboration between CMHS and the National Rehabilitation Center in Abu Dhabi. Since its establishment, it has graduated more than 60 mental health professionals – most of them UAEU alumni – who are now based at major hospitals around the UAE.

And Dr Osman’s wealth of experience has led to him playing a key role in development mental health treatment guidelines for primary care physicians in Abu Dhabi, and in providing training activities that enable this roadmap to be implemented. He has also been a significant contributor to Continuing Medical Education programs in the UAE and abroad, and regularly organizes and presents at regional and international psychiatric and neuroscience conferences.

Dr Osman is certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, is a Life Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association, and is licensed as a consultant psychiatrist at Al Ain and Tawam Hospitals.

In his spare time, he likes to play squash, table tennis, swim and to travel across the globe.

Share this news
 
Last updated:  Site best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution in I.E 9+, Mozilla 3.5+, Google Chrome 3.0+, Safari 5.0+

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Jul 8, 2018

د. أسامة توكل عثمان

أستاذ مشارك بقسم الطب النفسي والعلوم السلوكية, كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية

يركز الدكتور أسامة في عمله على جانبين هما البحث العلمي ومسؤوليته تجاه المجتمع، حيث يجمع بين عمله في مجال البحث العلمي وخدمة المجتمع وإرشاد الطلبة ليصبحوا قادة المستقبل. كما يؤمن أن ترجمة البحوث والتعليم النظري إلى التطبيق العملي أمراً مهماً يعود بالنفع على المجتمع، الأمر الذي جعله شخصية مهمة في قطاع الصحة في دولة الإمارات.

بعد تخرجه من كلية الطب بجامعة القاهرة، أكمل الدكتور أسامة أربع سنوات من التدريب المعتمد في مجال الطب النفسي في كلية الطب بجامعة جنوب إلينوي في الولايات المتحدة، الذي ساعده في تكوين أول بصمة له في عالم البحث في هذا المجال. وقد ساعدته الدراسات التي أجراها لفهم تأثير الأدوية من الناحية البيوكيميائية على المرضى في الحصول على جائزة التميز في مجال البحث حول مرض الفصام، وقد اختاره المعهد الوطني الأمريكي للصحة العقلية للحصول على زمالة تدريب بحثية في علم الأدوية النفسية السريرية.

وعمل الدكتور أسامة كعضو هيئة تدريس بدوام كامل في العديد من الجامعات الأمريكية لمدة ما يقارب عقد من الزمن وذلك بعد أن ركز أعماله البحثية خلال تدريبه في المعهد الوطني الأمريكي للصحة العقلية على الآليات الكيميائية العصبية وآليات الغدد الصماء العصبية التي تحدث عند المصابين باضطرابات المزاج بالإضافة إلى نشره لبحث ساهم في اكتشاف معلومات جديدة حول آليات عمل الدماغ. كما طور الدكتور أسامة أول برنامج أبحاث حول مرض الفصام في مركز باي باينز الطبي في فلوريدا بالولايات المتحدة. وعاد بعدها إلى جامعة جنوب إلينوي في الولايات المتحدة لإنشاء برنامج أكاديمي وتدريبي مبتكر حول إعاقة النمو، كما قاد إنشاء برامج سريرية وأكاديمية في مجال الصحة العقلية وإدمان المخدرات وإعاقة النمو في كلية الطب بجامعة ميرسر في جورجيا، مما ساعد في إتاحة الفرص التعليمية والتدريبية لكل من طلبة الطب والأطباء المقيمين.

وعاد الدكتور أسامة إلى دولة الإمارات عام 2004، حيث يعتبر دولة الإمارات وجامعة الإمارات بيته الثاني، وحصل خلال 13 عاماً قضاها في مدينة العين على العديد من المنح البحثية في جامعة الإمارات وتعاون مع باحثين من دولة الإمارات وخارجها بالإضافة إلى عمله مع مؤسسات أخرى مثل برنامج هارفارد للصدمات النفسية. وقد شملت أبحاثه دراسات متعددة التخصصات حول اضطرابات الصحة العقلية تتناول قضايا السمنة والأمراض الجلدية النفسية وآثار الصدمات النفسية والتوتر، كما يعد الدكتور أسامة عضواً فعالاً في مجموعة الأبحاث الأولية للعلوم العصبية في كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية بجامعة الإمارات.

إضافةً إلى تركيزه على البحث العلمي، يولي الدكتور أسامة التطوير الوظيفي للطلبة اهتماماً كبيراً. ونظراً لامتلاكه خبرة واسعة قام الدكتور أسامة بتطوير البرامج الأكاديمية ويرى أنه من المهم أن يتم توفير سبل مبتكرة تساعد خريجي جامعة الإمارات في تعزيز حياتهم المهنية بتأسيس أول برنامج في دولة الإمارات لتدريب الأطباء المقيمين عام 2004، لتلبية احتياجات الدولة لمختصي الطب النفسي. 

بعد أن عمل الدكتور أسامة كأول مدير لهيئة التدريس لمدة ست سنوات، قام بتطوير البرنامج ليصبح له ثلاث أفرع في مختلف إمارات الدولة عام 2010، وقد تم اعتماده من قبل مجلس الاعتماد للتعليم العالي الطبي في الولايات المتحدة، كما تم اختياره ليترأس لجنة المجلس العربي للطب النفسي لتطوير المناهج الدراسية والاعتماد.

وشارك الدكتور أسامة في تأسيس برنامج الدبلوم المهني العالي لتطوير المهارات والكفاءات في مجال الصحة العقلية، وهو تعاون بين كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية بجامعة الامارات والمركز الوطني للتأهيل في مدينة أبوظبي. وقد تخرج من البرنامج منذ إنشائه أكثر عن مختصاً بالصحة العقلية معظمهم من خريجي جامعة الإمارات وهم يعملون الآن في المستشفيات الكبرى في جميع أنحاء دولة الإمارات.

وقد ساعدته خبرته في المجال في تطوير المبادئ التي يستخدمها مقدمي الرعاية الأولية في علاج مشاكل الصحة العقلية وتوفير أنشطة التدريب التي تمكن من تنفيذ هذه المبادئ. كما ساهم بشكل بارز في تطوير برامج التعليم الطبي المستمر في دولة الإمارات وخارجها، وينظم ويقدم عروضاً في المؤتمرات المحلية والدولية التي تتعلق بالطب النفسي والعلوم العصبية.

ويعد الدكتور عثمان معتمداً من قبل المجلس الأمريكي للطب النفسي والأعصاب، وهو زميل مدى الحياة في الجمعية الأمريكية للطب النفسي، وطبيب استشاري نفسي مرخص في مستشفى العين الحكومي ومستشفى توام.

ومن هوايات الدكتور أسامة ممارسة رياضة الاسكواش وتنس الطاولة والسباحة والسفر حول العالم.

مشاركه هذا الخبر
آخر تحديث للصفحة في    هذا الموقع يمكن تصفحه بالشكل المناسب من خلال شاشة 1024x768 يدعم مايكروسوفت انترنت اكسبلورر 9.0+، فاير فوكس 2.0+، سفاري 3+، جوجل كروم 12.0+

Sorry

There is no English content for this page

Sorry

There is a problem in the page you are trying to access.

Aug 9, 2018