United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
Global Star Rating System for services

ACCESSIBILITY OPTIONS

A A A eye

NIGHT READING

Langauge

Accounting and Finance Department

Overview

The Accounting and Finance Department is synonymous with excellence in accounting education and research in the UAE and aspires to be a leading global center for accounting and financial thought in the wider GCC and the MENA regions.

We are committed to educating the next generation of Accounting, Auditing and Finance Professionals, expertly guiding our students through the challenges that come with continuous technological development.

The Department is the only AACSB- Accredited Accounting department in the GCC and MENA regions.  AACSB Accreditation is the hallmark of excellence in business education, and has been earned by less than 5% of the world's business schools.

Our undergraduate and postgraduate programs provide the practical and theoretical knowledge necessary for navigating and providing management and leadership of the complex global world of business; and helps students to develop the skills needed for active participation in society beyond graduation.

Faculty in the Department of Accounting and Finance mainly contribute to teaching in the following academic programs, offered by the College:

To find out more about the programs we have on offer, please use the links above, or look through our course list, available here

We are very proud of our alumni, many of whom have significant positions both in government and in private enterprises, thanks to the rich academic experiences they acquired throughout their studies.

We hope that our website will help you find the information you need, be it details of our undergraduate and postgraduate programs, or the many services and activities available to our stakeholders. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further details.

 

Dr. Mayada Youssef

Chair, Department of Accounting and Finance

Vision, Mission and Values

Vision

To be the leader in the region, manifesting distinction in education, research, and overture to the society and the profession.

Mission

Educating the next generation of Accounting and Finance Professionals. Guiding the Profession through the challenges that come with the technological developments.

  • Focus on professional development in the area of accounting, audit and finance;
  • Focus on the impact of innovation induced by technology on the profession and industry.

Values

  • Ethical behavior & professionalism
  • Global orientation & adaptability
  • Accountability & social responsibility
  • Community focus & continuous outreach
  • Equality & multi-culturalism
  • Adherence to cultural & Islamic values
  • Collegiality

Research

In the Accounting and Finance Department, research is focused around the following main themes: 

  • Corporate governance
  • Accountability
  • Management control systems
  • Accounting for sustainability
  • Innovations in management accounting and governance
  • Public sector accounting
  • Corporate finance
  • International finance
  • Islamic finance
  • Option Pricing
  • Portfolio Diversification
  • Financial Econometrics

We have a significant pool of international academic talent, who make substantial contributions to accounting and finance research. They have sound expertise in publishing with top international journals and serve on the editorial boards of reputable regional and international journals in the field. Faculty also act as peer and external reviewers actively participate in international conferences in both disciplines.

We are proud of the fact that many of the faculty attract external research funding from global organizations and regional/ international research centers belonging to top ranked worldwide universities. For example, the UK Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and the UK Department for International Development (DFID)

Academic Programs

Faculty

Note: If calling from outside the UAEU organization, dial (+971 3 713) before the extension.

Name Position Email Extension
Dr. Mayada A. Youssef Associate Professor, Chair mayada_youssef@uaeu.ac.ae 5237/5239
Prof. Essam Eldin Moustafa Professor essamm@uaeu.ac.ae 5232
Prof. Thomas Ahrens Professor tahrens@uaeu.ac.ae 5234
Prof. Khaled AlJifri Professor k.aljifri@uaeu.ac.ae 5235
Prof. Abdulnasser Hatemi Professor ahatemi@uaeu.ac.ae 5262
Prof. Aktham Issa  Al Maghyereh Professor a.almaghaireh@uaeu.ac.ae 5261
Dr. Robert Nyamori Associate Professor rnyamori@uaeu.ac.ae 5241
Dr. Peter B. Oyelere Associate Professor poyelere@uaeu.ac.ae 5255
Dr. Muhammad Bilal Farooq Associate Professor mbfarooq@uaeu.ac.ae 6529
Dr. Ahmed Elsayed Associate Professor ahmed.elsayed@uaeu.ac.ae 6508
Dr. Tariq Elrazaz Assistant Professor telrazaz@uaeu.ac.ae 5240
Dr. Mohammed Abdullahi Umar Assistant Professor mohammed.umar@uaeu.ac.ae 5215
Dr. Moataz Elmassri Assistant Professor moataz.elmassri@uaeu.ac.ae 5250
Dr. Muhammad Abubakr Naeem Assistant Professor muhammad.naeem@uaeu.ac.ae 5202
Dr. Zakaria Boulanouar Assistant Professor zboulanouar@uaeu.ac.ae 5257
Dr. Nader Atawnah Assistant Professor natawnah@uaeu.ac.ae 5214
Mrs. Nida Mubeen Instructor n.mubeen@uaeu.ac.ae 5271
Mr. Hisham Yaaoob Instructor hisham.yaacob@uaeu.ac.ae 5242
Mr. Musaddiq Khan Instructor musaddiq.a@uaeu.ac.ae 6514
Mr. Muhammad Imran Instructor Muhammad.Imran@uaeu.ac.ae 5228
Dr. Tarek El Shazly Instructor t.elshazly@uaeu.ac.ae 5294

Staff

Note: If calling from outside the UAEU organization, dial (+971 3 713) before the extension.

Name  Position Email Ext.
Dr. Mayada Youssef  Chair, Dept. Of Accounting and Finance  Mayada_youssef@uaeu.ac.ae 5237
Khuloud Al Neyadi Administrator 1, Accounting Dept.  k.rashed@uaeu.ac.ae 5245

General Enquiries

Thank you for your interest in the Accounting Department. We welcome your query and encourage you to contact us using the information below:

College of Business & Economics,
United Arab Emirates University,
P.O.Box 15551, Al Ain, UAE

Phone: + 971 3 713 5245 
Email: cbe.acctch@uaeu.ac.ae

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Jan 23, 2023