Dr. Synan AbuQamar

To make a positive impact on someone's life; values, dedication, opinion and productivity are the key! With these words, Dr. Synan AbuQamar climbed the academic ladder to become an Associate Professor at the Department of Biology in the United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) since 2014. Dr. AbuQamar completed his Ph.D. from Department of Botany & Plant Pathology/Purdue University in 2007. Following his Ph.D., Synan pursued as a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Prof. Tesfaye Mengiste at Purdue University. In 2008, he joined the Department of Biology at UAEU as an Assistant Professor.

Since then at UAEU, Synan has established a Plant Molecular Genetics/Plant Biotechnology laboratory at the Department of Biology. His current research area is Molecular Genetics of Plant Immunity. His research focuses on understanding the molecular and cellular factors that control plant defense mechanisms against necrotrophic pathogens – pathogens that kill host tissues/cells to complete their life cycle- using “model” and “crop” host plants. As a translational scientist, Dr. AbuQamar has been able to take forward his basic research using genomics, transcriptomics and gene functional approaches to agricultural and field applications, and back to the lab to know more about basic science. The ultimate goal is to substantially reduce the devastating impact of diseases on plants.

In the UAE, as in other countries in the world, plants fight to survive harsh environmental stresses, including plant pathogens. Synan is striving to improve plant resistance to pathogens/diseases. Traditional horticultural and chemical practices have proven their limitations, or even negative impacts on the environment and human health. Therefore, genetic engineering and biological control can limit the increases of pathogen populations, and often suppress the plant tissue destroying activities of pathogens. In his lab, Synan has extensively been concerned about the plant-microbe interaction, including Arabidopsis thaliana-Botrytis cinerea, date palm-Thielaviopsispunctulata  and mango-Lasiodiplodia theobromae  pathosystems. For example, B. cinerea  is considered the second most important fungal pathogen worldwide that causes diseases in a wide range of crops. T. punctulata and L. theobromae causing black scorch disease (locally known as Medjnoon) on date palm and dieback disease on mango; respectively, negatively affect the agribusiness in the UAE.

Dr. AbuQamar’s lab has efficiently limit chemicals use on plants. So far, the lab has generated several mutations in genes and discovered many biocontrol agents for a highly effective solution against these “nasty” fungi. All research findings are the result of research projects carried out by Dr. AbuQamar’s team including M.Sc. and Ph.D. students. Synan has published over 50 publications in highly impact international journals. This is evident that American Society of Plant Biologist (ASPB) has recognized Synan being one of the most highly cited author in “Plant Cell” and “Plant Physiology” journals published between 2009-2013 in the Middle East and Africa. In addition, he has been recognized in several occasions by UAEU as a “distinguished researcher” with publication in top ranked journals. In 2017, he was awarded the College of Science Award for Excellence in Scholarship.

Synan is married and has one son, Hamzeh, and one daughter, Juwan. Synan enjoys reading, football and traveling.

Share this news
 
Last updated:  Site best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution in I.E 9+, Mozilla 3.5+, Google Chrome 3.0+, Safari 5.0+

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Jul 4, 2018

د. سنان أبو قمر

أستاذ مشارك بقسم علوم الحياة, كلية العلوم

حصل الدكتور سنان أبو قمر على درجة الدكتوراه في علم النبات وعلم أمراض النبات عام 2007 من جامعة بيردو في الولايات المتحدة كما عمل في الجامعة ذاتها  في برنامج الزمالة ما بعد الدكتوراه. وانضم الدكتور سنان إلى جامعة الامارات عام 2008 كأستاذ مساعد ثم حصل على  ترقية بعدها ليصبح أستاذاً مشاركاً عام 2014.

وقد أنشأ الدكتور سنان مختبراً يختص بعلم الوراثة الجزيئية النباتية والتكنولوجيا الأحيائية النباتية في قسم علوم الحياة بجامعة الإمارات. ويعد مجاله البحثي الحالي علم الوراثة الجزيئية لمناعة النبات، حيث يركز بحثه على فهم العوامل الجزيئية والخلوية التي تتحكم في آليات الدفاع عند النباتات ضد مسببات الأمراض التي تقتل الأنسجة والخلايا المضيفة لإكمال دورة حياتها من خلال استخدام النباتات النموذجية ونباتات ذات المحصول المضيفة. كما تمكن الدكتور سنان من تطوير أبحاثه حول علم الجينوم والوظائف الجينية كما تتناول أبحاثه التطبيقات الزراعية والميدانية لمعرفة المزيد عن العلوم الأساسية وتهدف هذه الدراسات إلى التقليل بشكل كبير من الأثر المدمر للأمراض على النباتات. 

كما يسعى الدكتور سنان إلى تحسين مقاومة النبات للأمراض ومسبباتها. وقد أثبتت الممارسات البستانية والكيميائية التقليدية أنها غير مجدية بشكل كاف، بل إن لها آثار سلبية على البيئة وصحة الإنسان. لذلك يمكن لطرق مكافحة الأمراض باستخدام الهندسة الوراثية والطرق البيولوجية أن تقلل من عدد الكائنات المسببة للأمراض وأن تحد من تدمير الأنسجة النباتية التي تقوم بها الكائنات المسببة للأمراض. كما أجرى الدكتور سنان العديد من التجارب في مختبره في جامعة الإمارات حول تفاعل الميكروب النباتي مثل العفن الرمادي الذي يصيب العديد من المحاصيل الزراعية والفطر الممرض لأشجار النخيل والكائنات الممرضة للنبات. فعلى سبيل المثال، يعتبر الفطر B. cinerea ثاني أهم مسببات الأمراض الفطرية في جميع أنحاء العالم والتي تسبب الأمراض في العديد من المحاصيل الزراعية مثل مرض اللفحة السوداء الذي يصيب أشجار النخيل ومرض موت الأطراف الذي يصيب نبات المانجو، وتؤثر هذه الأمراض سلباً على الأعمال التجارية الزراعية في دولة الإمارات.

ويكرس الدكتور سنان وقته للعمل في مختبره بهدف الحد من استخدام المواد الكيميائية على النباتات. وقد توصل إلى العديد من الطفرات الجينية واكتشف العديد من طرق المكافحة الحيوية للقضاء على الفطريات الضارة. وتعد النتائج البحثية التي توصل إليها الدكتور سنان هي نتاج مشاريع بحثية قام بها فريقه البحثي المكون من طلبة الماجستير والدكتوراه. وقد قام بنشر أكثر من 50 بحثاً في مجلات عالمية ذات تأثير كبير، حيث صنفته الجمعية الأمريكية لعلم الأحياء النباتية كواحد من أكثر الباحثين في الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا الذين يؤخذ منهم اقتباسات في علم الخلية النباتية وعلم وظائف الأعضاء النباتية خلال الفترة من 2009-2013. كما أطلقت عليه جامعة الإمارات لقب "الباحث المتميز" لنشره في المجلات العلمية المرموقة، وحصل عام 2017 على جائزة كلية العلوم للتميز في العلم والمعرفة.

ومن هوايات الدكتور سنان القراءة وكرة القدم والسفر.

مشاركه هذا الخبر
آخر تحديث للصفحة في    هذا الموقع يمكن تصفحه بالشكل المناسب من خلال شاشة 1024x768 يدعم مايكروسوفت انترنت اكسبلورر 9.0+، فاير فوكس 2.0+، سفاري 3+، جوجل كروم 12.0+

Sorry

There is no English content for this page

Sorry

There is a problem in the page you are trying to access.

Aug 8, 2018