Dr. Iltaf Shah

Assistant Professor  

In July 2015 Iltaf Shah became an Assistant Professor of the College of Science at the United Arab Emirates University. His research focuses on the development of chemical tools to better understand the role of vitamins and metabolites in the human body. He is particularly interested in vitamin D targets and narrow-spectrum therapeutics. As part of this research, he recently developed an innovative vitamin D test to measure vitamin D deficiency in the Emirati population. In collaboration with Tawam Hospital Medical School, Dr. Shah is also seeking to commercialize this test by implementing it in UAE hospitals. He has also worked with Kingston University to develop a new test that detects kidney disease at an early stage in humans.

His other research interest is the bioanalysis of drugs and steroids in human and animal hair by using enzyme linked immune-sorbent assays, liquid chromatography and mass spectrometry instruments. He has recently developed a test used for doping control in camel racing. This is a joint effort between Dr David Cowan’s laboratory at Kings College London and the Camel Forensic Laboratory in Al Ain. After significant news coverage in the UAE, Iltaf has been asked to record an interview with ITV news in London to explain the science behind these innovations in camel racing drug tests.

Iltaf completed a B.Sc. at King Edward’s College and then both an M.Sc and Ph.D with Kingston University, England. He has worked as postdoctoral fellow with Professor Naughton at Kingston and then followed this with a lectureship at the same University. He then moved to UAE to take up a post as an Assistant Professor of Biochemistry at UAEU. His graduate, Ph.D and postdoctoral work was mainly on the bioanalytical aspects of small molecules in human bodily fluids. He has also investigated the use of specialised bioanalytical techniques for large molecules proteins and peptides.

He is a member of the Royal Society of Chemistry. He has collaborated on several projects with St Thomas’s Hospital, Brighton, Sussex Medical School, Sheffield University, St George’s University, Aristotle University and the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) as well as with many private companies. Dr. Shah has received a number of awards for teaching and research, and is the author of more than 50 research articles.

He hold a teaching qualification and is a fellow of HEA. He also has management qualifications from the Chartered Management Institute where he remains a member.

An avid sports fan Iltaf follows Manchester United and enjoys cricket. Other hobbies include singing when he is not relaxing in the company of his wife and kids.

Share this news
 
Last updated:  Site best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution in I.E 9+, Mozilla 3.5+, Google Chrome 3.0+, Safari 5.0+

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Jul 4, 2018

د. الطاف شاه

أستاذ مساعد بقسم الكيمياء, كلية العلوم

بدأ الدكتور ألطاف عمله كأستاذ مساعد في كلية العلوم بجامعة الإمارات في يوليو 2015، ويركز بحثه على تطوير أدوات كيميائية تساعد في فهم أفضل لدور الفيتامينات والمستقلبات في جسم الإنسان، كما يدرس مستقبلات فيتامين د وطرق العلاج المحدودة لنقص الفيتامين. وقد قام مؤخراً بتطوير اختبار مبتكر لقياس مدى نقص هذا الفيتامين عند الإماراتيين. ويسعى الدكتور ألطاف بالتعاون مع الكلية الطبية التابعة لمستشفى توام إلى  تسويق  هذا الاختبار من خلال تطبيقه في مستشفيات دولة الإمارات. كما عمل مع جامعة كينجستون ببريطانيا لتطوير اختبار جديد للكشف المبكر عن أمراض الكلى.

وتتضمن اهتمامات الدكتور ألطاف البحثية التحليل الحيوي للأدوية ومركبات الستيرويد في شعر الإنسان والحيوان من خلال استخدام اختبار الامتصاص المناعي للإنزيم المرتبط والكروماتوغرافيا السائلة وأجهزة قياس الطيف الكتلي. وقد طور بالتعاون مع مختبر الدكتور ديفيد كوان في مستشفى كينغز كوليدج لندن ومختبر الطب الشرعي للجمال في مدينة العين اختباراً لمكافحة المنشطات المستخدمة في سباقات الهجن. وقد استضيف الدكتور ديفيد من قبل برنامج اخبار ITV في لندن لتوضيح الجانب العلمي لاكتشاف هذا الاختبار.

وحصل الدكتور ألطاف على درجة البكالوريوس من جامعة الملك إدوارد وعلى درجتي الماجستير والدكتوراه مع جامعة كينجستون في بريطانيا. كما عمل في برنامج الزمالة ما بعد الدكتوراه في الجامعة نفسها ومن ثم بدأ بإلقاء  المحاضرات بالجامعة، وانتقل بعدها الدكتور ألطاف إلى جامعة الإمارات ليصبح أستاذاً مساعداً بقسم الكيمياء الحيوية. وكانت أعماله البحثية في مرحلة الدراسات العليا وما بعد الدكتوراه تتمحور حول الجوانب التحليلية الحيوية للجزيئات الصغيرة في سوائل جسم الانسان. وقام بدراسة استخدام تقنيات التحاليل الحيوية المتخصصة لبروتينات الجزيئات الكبيرة والببتيدات.

ويعد الدكتور ألطاف عضواً في الجمعية الملكية للكيمياء. وتعاون في عدة مشاريع مع مستشفى سانت توماس في لندن ومستشفى برايتون في الولايات المتحدة وكلية ساسيكس الطبية وجامعة شيفيلد وجامعة سانت جورج وجامعة أرسطو والوكالة العالمية لمكافحة المنشطات بالإضافة الى العديد من الشركات الأخرى. وقد حصل الدكتور ألطاف على عدد من الجوائز في مجال البحث والتدريس كما قام بكتابة أكثر من 50 مقالة بحثية.

يمتلك الدكتور ألطاف مؤهلاً علمياً في مجال التدريس ويعد زميلاً  لأكاديمية التعليم العالي بالمملكة المتحدة كما لديه شهادات أخرى في مجال إدارة الأعمال من معهد تشارتد لإدارة الاعمال وهو لا يزال عضواً بهذا  المعهد.

ومن هوايات الدكتور ألطاف ممارسة رياضة  الكريكت والغناء ومشاهدة فريق كرة القدم المفضل لديه "مانشستر يونايتد".

 

مشاركه هذا الخبر
آخر تحديث للصفحة في    هذا الموقع يمكن تصفحه بالشكل المناسب من خلال شاشة 1024x768 يدعم مايكروسوفت انترنت اكسبلورر 9.0+، فاير فوكس 2.0+، سفاري 3+، جوجل كروم 12.0+

Sorry

There is no English content for this page

Sorry

There is a problem in the page you are trying to access.

Aug 8, 2018