Dr. Gurdal Ertek

Associate Professor of Management Department of Analytics in the Digital Era

Dr. Gürdal Ertek received his B.S. from Industrial Engineering Department of Boğaziçi University, Istanbul, Turkey, in 1994, and his Ph.D. from School of Industrial and Systems Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, in 2001. His research areas include business analytics, data science, artificial intelligence, block chain, supply chain management, and project management.

Before joining UAEU in August 2019, Dr. Ertek served for 13 years at Sabancı University, Istanbul, Turkey, and other academic and research institutions in Singapore, Kuwait, and United Arab Emirates (UAE). He has taught 2,000+ students in lecture-styled courses and has supervised/mentored in person 700+ students in project courses or course projects. He has also served as a reviewer for more than 50+ R&D projects submitted to TÜBİTAK (Turkish National Science Foundation) and other research organization.

In September 2020, UAE University received full accreditation for the Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Statistics and Data Analytics (STAT), where Dr. Gurdal Ertek was a contributor. This program is the first of its kind in the UAE and the Gulf region, combining traditional and modern methods of mathematics, statistics, and data analytics. The program is positioned to grow highly competent data professionals within the UAE.

Dr. Ertek is recipient of many awards, including Service and Colleagiality Award at Abu Dhabi University and Project Manager Educator Award at Sharjah Chamber of Commerce & Industry from Alleeem Business Congress.

In November 2020, Dr. Gurdal Ertek has received Bronze Medal from Ethereum Foundation, Switzerland in the  “Medalla Data Challenge”. Dr. Ertek and a NY-based researcher colleague joined the blockchain data science challenge with three technical articles. The articles analyze the data schema of and data propagation delays in Ethereum 2.0. From across the world, 12 teams were recognized for their work with awards. Dr. Ertek was one of the few researchers participating from outside of USA/Europe/China and the only researcher from academia.

Dr. Ertek is an amateur musician, with his music published as an online album, and an amateur ebru (marbling) artist. 

Share this news
UAE Government
 
Last updated:  Site best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution in I.E 9+, Mozilla 3.5+, Google Chrome 3.0+, Safari 5.0+

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Jan 20, 2021

الدكتور جوردال إرتك

أستاذ مساعد في إدارة الأعمال, قسم التحليل في العصر الرقمي

حصل الدكتور جوردال إرتك على درجة بكالوريوس العلوم من قسم الهندسة الصناعية في جامعة بوغازي، اسطنبول، تركيا، عام 1994. وحصل على درجة الدكتوراه من كلية الهندسة الصناعية في معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا، أتلانتا، جورجيا، في عام 2001. تشمل مجالات بحثه تحليل الأعمال وعلوم البيانات والذكاء الاصطناعي وإدارة سلسلة التوريد وإدارة المشاريع.

قبل انضمامه إلى جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في أغسطس 2019، عمل الدكتور جوردال إرتك لمدة 13 عامًا في جامعة سابانجي، اسطنبول، تركيا، ومؤسسات أكاديمية وبحثية أخرى في سنغافورة والكويت والإمارات العربية المتحدة. قام بتدريس أكثر من 2000 طالب في المساقات الجامعية وأشرف على 700 طالب في مساقات المشاريع. وعمل أيضًا كمراجع لأكثر من 50 مشروعًا للبحث والتطوير تم تقديمها إلى توبيتاك (مؤسسة العلوم الوطنية التركية) ومؤسسة بحثية أخرى.

حصلت جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة على الاعتماد الكامل لبرنامج بكالوريوس العلوم في الإحصاء وتحليل البيانات في سبتمبر 2020، حيث أسهم الدكتور جوردال إرتك في تحقيق هذا الانجاز. يعد هذا البرنامج الأول من نوعه في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومنطقة الخليج، حيث يجمع بين الأساليب التقليدية والحديثة في الرياضيات والإحصاء وتحليل البيانات. تم طرح البرنامج بهدف إعداد خريجين بكفاءة عالية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

حصل الدكتور جوردال إرتك على العديد من الجوائز، بما فيها جائزة الزمالة في جامعة أبوظبي وجائزة إدارة المشاريع في غرفة تجارة وصناعة الشارقة من منتدى الليم للأعمال.

وحصل الدكتور جوردال إرتك على الميدالية البرونزية من مؤسسة ايثروم في سويسرا في مسابقة علم البيانات في نوفمبر 2020. وشارك الدكتور جوردال  إرتك وزميل باحث من نيويورك في مسابقة علم البيانات بثلاثة مقالات تقنية. تحلل المقالات مخطط البيانات وتأخير نشر البيانات من جميع أنحاء العالم، وتم تكريم 12 فريقًا على أعمالهم. كان الدكتورجوردال إرتك أحد الباحثين القلائل المشاركين من خارج الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية / أوروبا / الصين والباحث الوحيد من الأوساط الأكاديمية.

من هوايات الدكتور جوردال إرتك الرسم على الماء والموسيقى حيث ينشر مؤلفاته الموسيقية على الانترنت.   

مشاركه هذا الخبر
UAE Government
آخر تحديث للصفحة في    هذا الموقع يمكن تصفحه بالشكل المناسب من خلال شاشة 1024x768 يدعم مايكروسوفت انترنت اكسبلورر 9.0+، فاير فوكس 2.0+، سفاري 3+، جوجل كروم 12.0+

Sorry

There is no English content for this page

Sorry

There is a problem in the page you are trying to access.

Jan 20, 2021