United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
Global Star Rating System for services

ACCESSIBILITY OPTIONS

A A A eye

NIGHT READING

Langauge

Dr. Timothy Power

Dr. Timothy Power

Wed, 28 September 2022

I am an archaeologist and sometime historian specialising in Arabia and the Islamic world. My interest in Islamic civilization began in 2001 when I moved to Cairo, from where I worked on a historical guidebook to Alexandria and dug in the Eastern Desert of Egypt, before travelling extensively in the Islamic world between Seville and Samarkand. I went on to study Islamic art and archaeology at the University of Oxford in 2003, and completed my doctorate on the Red Sea basin from Byzantium to the Caliphate, later published as a book by the AUC Press. I have been based in the Emirates since 2009.

My career began as a consultant to the Department of Culture and Tourism, for whom I worked on archaeological excavations in the al-Ain Oases. I was then appointed Lecturer in Islamic Archaeology at UCL Qatar, before moving to Zayed University in Abu Dhabi, where I was promoted to Associate Professor. I joined the United Arab Emirates University in 2021 and am happy to be back in the beautiful oasis town of al-Ain. My archaeological fieldwork focuses on the oases of al-Ain and lagoon of Umm al-Quwain. I am a specialist in the Islamic-period ceramics of the Arabian Gulf. This has led to a research interest in Indian Ocean trade. I have worked on the history and archaeology of many sites in the Emirates, including Qattara Arts Centre, Qasr al-Muwaij‘i, al-Ain Museum, Qasr al-Hosn, Saadiyat Island, Hisn al-Sira, Jazirat al-Hamra, Masafi Oasis, Hatta Dam, and Siniya Island. I have also run archaeological projects in Buraimi and Zanzibar.

In 2022 I was awarded a Start Up Grant by the Research Office with the support of the College of Humanities and Social Science. This grant has been used to set up an archaeological project on Siniya Island in collaboration with the Tourism and Archaeology Department Umm al-Quwain. Our excavations have so far discovered the old town and Friday mosque of Umm al-Quwain, a 700-year-old urban sequence constituting one of the best preserved coastal settlements ever found in the Emirates. Students from UAEU are welcome to volunteer to join us in the excavations! Over the past few years, I have been working on my next book, provisionally entitled “A History of the Emirati People: Identity and Belonging between the Arabian Peninsula and Indian Ocean.” This constitutes a first attempt to bring together archaeological and historical evidence to chart the long-term economic and social development of the pre-modern Emirates. I so far have about 150,000 of a planned 200,000 words and look forward to completing it in the next couple of years.  

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Nov 21, 2022

د. تيم باور

د. تيم باور

Wed, 28 September 2022

أنا عالم آثار ومؤرخ أحيانا في العالم العربي والإسلامي. بدأ اهتمامي بالحضارة الإسلامية في عام 2001 عندما انتقلت إلى القاهرة، حيث عملت على دليل تاريخي بعنوان "إلى الإسكندرية وحفرت في الصحراء الشرقية لمصر"، قبل أن أسافر كثيرًا في العالم الإسلامي بين إشبيلية وسمرقند. كذلك التحقتُ بجامعة أكسفورد في عام 2003 لدراسة الفن الإسلامي وعلم الآثار. وأكملت الدكتوراه في حوض البحر الأحمر من بيزنطة إلى الخلافة، التي نشرت لاحقًا ككتاب من قسم النشر بالجامعة الأمريكية في القاهرة. أقيم في دولة الإمارات منذ عام 2009.

بدأت مسيرتي المهنية مستشاراً لدائرة الثقافة والسياحة، وعملت في الحفريات الأثرية في واحات العين. ثم عُيّنتُ محاضرًا في علم الآثار الإسلامي في جامعة كاليفورنيا في قطر، قبل أن أنتقل إلى جامعة زايد في أبو ظبي، حيث تمت ترقيتي إلى أستاذ مشارك. ثمّ التحقتُ بجامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في عام 2021 ويسعدني أن أعود إلى واحة مدينة العين الجميلة. إنّ عملي الميداني الأثري يختصّ بواحات العين وبحيرة أم القيوين. أنا كذلك متخصص في الخزف الإسلامي في الخليج العربي. وهذا دفعني إلى تركيز البحث في تجارة المحيط الهندي. لقد عملت في العديد من المواقع التاريخية في دولة الإمارات. منها: مركز القطارة للفنون، وقصر المويجعي، ومتحف العين، وقصر الحصن، وجزيرة السعديات، وحصن الصيرة، وجزيرة الحمراء، وواحة مسافي، وسد حتا، والجزيرة السينية. وأدير حالياً عدة مشاريع أثرية في منطقتي البريمي وزنجبار.

في عام 2022، حصلت على منحة بدء التشغيل من مكتب الأبحاث بدعم من كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية. تم استخدام هذه المنحة لإقامة مشروع أثري في جزيرة السينية بالتعاون مع قسم السياحة والآثار في أم القيوين. كَشَفَتْ حفرياتنا حتى الآن عن البلدة القديمة، ومسجد أم القيوين يوم الجمعة، وهو تسلسل حضري عمره 700 عام يشكل واحدة من أفضل المستوطنات الساحلية المحفوظة في الإمارات. ونرحب بطلاب جامعة الإمارات للتطوع لدينا في هذه الحفريات. خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، كنت أعمل على كتابي: «تاريخ الشعب الإماراتي: الهوية والانتماء بين شبه الجزيرة العربية والمحيط الهندي». ويشكل هذا الكتاب أول محاولة لجمع الأدلة الأثرية والتاريخية من أجل رسم خرائط التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية طويلة الأجل للإمارات ما قبل العصر الحديث. وقد أنجزتُ إلى الآن حوالي 150.000 كلمة من أصل 200.000 كلمة مخطط لها، وأتطلع إلى إكمالها في السنوات القادمة. 

Sorry

There is no English content for this page

Sorry

There is a problem in the page you are trying to access.

Nov 21, 2022