Scroll Back to Top
United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE

Settings

A A A eye

Night Reading

Langauge

Translate this page to

The UAEU is not responsible for the translation output by google.
accessibility

Department of Biology

Overview

The Biology Department is committed to providing solutions to the community through education, research, and partnerships with various organizations. The faculty and staff of the Biology Department are dedicated to delivering a quality education and experience to all the students.

We offer an outstanding and robust curriculum, in addition to a wide-scope of opportunities for mentoring, as a way of developing a comprehensive understanding of biology at the levels of molecules, cells, organisms and the environmental sciences.

We focus on the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills both in the classroom and in research. In addition to this, our graduate students can select from a number of experienced faculties and can explore interdisciplinary research in the areas of Environmental sciences, Biotechnology, genetics and engineering, among other disciplines.

The new University campus is equipped with state-of-art laboratories. The Biology Department continuously strives to match best internal standards. We welcome you and invite you to explore our Department website.

The Department of Biology provides an exciting learning environment for students. The department has a dedicated and professional team of faculty and staff who continuously update the academic courses and enrich the students’ experience and skills. We strive to reach out to the wider UAE community through research and development endeavors. The faculty members are involved in research projects spanning all fields of biological sciences. The department is proud to have been one of the founders of the Master Program in Environmental Sciences. Graduates from this program have been serving the UAE Community for over a decade. 

Our objectives are:

  • To prepare students who can provide solutions to challenges in health, environment, energy, food and agriculture.
  • To be among the best teaching/research department in the region.
  • To prepare our students for future careers that serve the needs of the UAE and the region.
  • To prepare the students to fulfill their own personal dreams of a graduate education at a first class institution.
  • To generate world class research and to continue our collaborations with international scientists and agencies.

The Biology Department provides its students with a superb learning and research experience. The faculty members utilize high-tech labs armed with a state-of-the-art equipment enabling research from gene to genome. The laboratories house a vast array of equipment such as: an ion-torrent genome sequencer, traditional and real time PCR thermo cyclers, sanger DNA sequencers, microscopes, microbiology facilities, aquatic research tools, deep freezers, ovens, eliza readers, gel documenting systems, and an array of other equipment required to conduct research. The Biology Department laboratories are located in buildings E3 and F1. 

Biology laboratories located in Building E3 include:

  • UAEU National Herbarium
  • Histology Lab
  • Molecular Biology Research Lab
  • Environmental Research Lab
  • Molecular Biology Lab
  • Microbiology Lab
  • Marine Biology Lab
  • Basic Biology Lab
  • Animal Physiology Lab
  • Immunology & Parasitology Lab
  • Plant Biology & Physiology Lab
  • Entomology Lab

Biology Laboratories located in building F1 include:

  • A Genomic Core Facility – A complete solution for DNA sequencing from gene to genome level.
  • Cellular& Molecular Biology (2 labs)
  • Microbiology and Environmental Lab

The purpose of the Biology Club is to provide a community for students interested in biological sciences to gather and exchange ideas. Moreover, the club's intent is to have host a variety of activities and meetings throughout the semesters that are fun, educational, and helpful for students interested in biology.

Biology Club Committee:

  • President
  • Vice president
  • Secretary
  • Event and students’ affairs coordinator
  • Photographer

The Biology Department can provide a range of consultancies in different areas. In the past the department has always provided solutions to the community through partnership and consultation. The areas of expertise within the department are:

  • Genomic studies of organism including humans.
  • Microbiological analysis of water and sewage effluents and microbiological surveillance of infectious diseases.
  • Genetic classification of wildlife of plants and animals.
  • Diagnosis of plant diseases, soil microbiology, soil fertility, and organic farming.
  • Scientific consultancy in marine and fresh water ecological issues.
  • Consultations on desertification issues.
  • Training on managing rangelands.
  • Training on applications of GPS and GIS in desert ecosystems.
  • Training and consultancy in plant biotechnology.
  • Training in DNA sequencing including new generation sequencing
  • Measuring plants antioxidant potentials and biological assay of oxidative stress markers in animal tissues.
  • Blood hematological biochemical analysis, and seroprevalence studies.
  • Water-borne diseases, toxoplasma gondii studies.
  • Malaria immunology and epidemiology.
  • Phytoplankton culture especially chlorella culture.
  • Fish behavior study projects.
  • DNA finger printing in plants and animals.
  • Protein banding pattern, DNA extraction and purification, database manipulation for DNA and protein alignment and prediction of a protein structure.
  • Identification of new drug targets for pharmaceutical applications.
  • Assessment of plant toxicity, assessment of protective potential of local plants.
  • Microbiological analysis of water, isolation and identification of cyanobacteria and other micro-algae, soil analysis, T and M typing of group A streptococci.
  • Pollutants monitoring, epidemiology of infectious diseases.
  • Clinical diagnostic microbiology, PCR techniques, PFGE techniques, cloning techniques.
  • High performance liquid chromatography.
  • Plant identification classification, and plant materials analysis.
  • Environmental impact assessment in the different fields of wild plants, rangelands, biodiversity and conservation.
  • Examining samples of infectious parasites.
  • Search for bioactive molecules in natural products and medicinal plants.

Academic Programs

 

Faculty

Note: If calling from outside the UAEU organization, dial (+971 3 713) before the extension.

Name Position Email Ext.

Khaled Amiri, PhD

Professor, Chairman of the Department

k.amiri@uaeu.ac.ae

6722

Waleed Hamza, PhD

Professor

w.hamza@uaeu.ac.ae

6547

Rabah Iratni, PhD

Professor

 r_iratni@uaeu.ac.ae 6526

Khaled A. El-Tarabily, PhD

Professor

ktarabily@uaeu.ac.ae

6518

Synan Abu Qamar, PhD

Professor

sabuqamar@uaeu.ac.ae

6733

Sabir Bin Muzaffar, PhD

Professor

S_muzaffar@uaeu.ac.ae

6549

Mohammed Ali Al-Deeb, PhD

Professor

m_aldeeb@uaeu.ac.ae

6527

Ranjit Vijayan, PhD

Professor 

ranjit.v@uaeu.ac.ae 

6302 

Sofyan H Alyan, PhD

Associate Professor

salyan@uaeu.ac.ae

6734

Aaron Henderson, PhD 

Associate Professor

ahenderson@uaeu.ac.ae 

6724 

Ruwaya Al-Kendi

Associate Professor

ruwayaa@uaeu.ac.ae

6743

Asma Al Menhali

Associate Professor, Vice Dean

asmaa@uaeu.ac.ae

6732

Yusra Al-Dhaheri

Associate Professor

yusra.aldhaheri@uaeu.ac.ae

6731

Mayank Gururani

Associate Professor

gururani@uaeu.ac.ae

6528

Oliver Manlik

Associate Professor

Oliver.manlik@uaeu.ac.ae

6346

Khalid Muhammad

Associate Professor

k.muhammad@uaeu.ac.ae

6517

Fatima Labeed

Associate Professor

f.labeed@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Sunil Mundra

Associate Professor

sunilmundra@uaeu.ac.ae

6341

Aaron Henderson

Associate Professor

ahenderson@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Youngwook Kim

Assistant Professor

youngwook.kim@uaeu.ac.ae

6299

Badria Al Marshedi

Assistant Professor

b.almarshidi@uaeu.ac.ae

6323

Mohammad Tauqeer Alam 

Assistant Professor

mtalam@uaeu.ac.ae

6370

Igor. Kryvoruchko

Assistant Professor

Igor.Kryvoruchko@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Amit Kumar

Assistant Professor

amit.kumar@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Nighat Perveen

Visiting Faculty

nighat.p@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Shaijal Thru Ppoyil

Visiting Faculty

shaijalbabu83@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Seham Al Raish

Visiting Faculty

seham.alraish@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Haslina Razali

Visiting Faculty

Haslina_r@uaeu.ac.ae 

 

Janine Yuvette Tan

Visiting Faculty

jtan@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Mohamed  Lotfy

Instructor

m.Lotfy@uaeu.ac.ae

6522

Gaber Ramadan

Instructor

Jaber.ramadan@uaeu.ac.ae

6523

Mohamed Rizk Enan

Instructor

mohamed.enan@uaeu.ac.ae

6524

Yasser Torki Abdelsamie Ahmed

Instructor

Yasser.turki@uaeu.ac.ae

6525

Mohammad Fazale Haque

Instructor

Myusuf.alig@uaeu.ac.ae

6199

Yasir Nour

Instructor

suliemany@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Staff

Name Position Email Ext.

Raja Al-Meskari

Academic Assistant

r.almeskari@uaeu.ac.ae

6730

Naeema Al-Shamsi

Lab Specialist

naeema.Alshamsi@uaeu.ac.ae

6728

Halima Al Meqbaali

Lab Specialist

halima_almeqbali@uaeu.ac.ae

4659

Samira Al-Dashti

Lab Specialist

s.aldashti@uaeu.ac.ae

6163

Mohamed Tahir Mousa

Lab Specialist

mohamed.mousa@uaeu.ac.ae

6520

Biduth Kundu

Lab Specialist

 biduth.k@uaeu.ac.ae 4651

Afra Al Ketbi

Lab Specialist

afra.alketbi@uaeu.ac.ae

6719

Salwa Sultan Saeed

Executive Secretary

biology@uaeu.ac.ae

6725

Thank you for your interest in the Biology Department. We welcome your query and encourage you to contact us using the information below:

United Arab Emirates University, 
College of Science,
P.O.Box: 15551, Al Ain, UAE 

Phone: + 971 3 713 6725 
Fax: +971 3 676 1291 
Email: biology@uaeu.ac.ae

United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Jun 5, 2024