KHALIFA CENTER FOR GENETIC ENGINEERING AND BIOTECHNOLOGY  

 

 

 

Overview

The Khalifa Center for Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology (KCGEB) was inaugurated in 2014 by His Highness Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Presidential Affairs. Research at the KCGEB is focused on exploring flora of the arid region to generate scientific knowledge to address the global challenges in the food security and sustainable agriculture practice through genomics, genetic engineering and biotechnological innovations. Our work is supported by strategic funding from the Ministry of Presidential Affairs.

Vision

“To channel the genetic system of plants to transform agriculture in UAE”

Learn More

Mission

“Achieve leadership in the field of plant genetic engineering and biotechnology through discovery and innovative research to produce and design plants with agro-economical traits".

Learn More

Research

The research at the KCGEB is primarily involved in the development of crops tolerant to abiotic stresses through knowledge generation and translational research. The Center is also focused on developing crops with enhanced agronomic traits to expand value chains of existing industrial crops. 

The Center has three research platforms:

  • Genetic Engineering for Crop Improvement

  • Genomics and Bioinformatics

  • Translational Research for Crop Development

Learn More

 

Facilities

Events

 

Highlights

Khalifa Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology has come a long way since its inauguration in 2014.  His Highness Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Presidential Affairs, directions have been instrumental for the success of the center.  

Dr. Khaled Amiri

Director, Khalifa Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology 

Dr. Martin is graduated from University of Calicut, Kerala, India in 2001. He is a recipient of the prestigious UKEIRI-India research fellowship, and he performed his research to enhance the production of pharmaceutical compounds in medicinal plants using molecular tools in De Montfort University, Leicester, UK.  

Martin Kottackal, Ph.D

Senior Research Associate 

Dr. Ling joined the Khalifa Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology as a Senior Research Associate in 2014. She received her Bachelor of Science degree from the Ohio State University (Ohio, USA). She completed her doctoral degree in Molecular Genetics under the supervision of Professor Harald Vaessin at the Ohio State University in 2000.

Ling Li, Ph.D

Senior Research Associate 

Dr. Rashid joined the Khalifa Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (KCGEB) as a Research Assistant Professor in 2016. Prior to his appointment at KCGEB, he served at the University of Connecticut and the John Hopkins University (Baltimore, USA) as a Post-Doctoral Fellow. He has also served at the National Institute for Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering in Pakistan as a Senior Scientific Officer. 

Rashid Ali, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor

Dr. Hazzouri earned his Ph.D. in evolutionary genomics from the University of Toronto in 2012. In his doctoral research he worked on mating system evolution in the flowering plants (Capsella and Collinsia) and its genomic consequences. He joined as a senior research scientist at the Purugganan laboratory in the New York University Abu Dhabi (NYUAD), working mainly on the genomic diversity and origin of the perennial Date palm fruit tree as well as mining genetic variants in the green algae Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. 

Khaled Hazzouri, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor

 

 
Last updated:  Site best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution in I.E 9+, Mozilla 3.5+, Google Chrome 3.0+, Safari 5.0+

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Oct 22, 2018

مركز خليفة للتقانات الحيوية والهندسة الوراثية 

 

 

 

نظرة عامة

افتتح سمو الشيخ منصور بن زايد آل نهيان نائب رئيس مجلس الوزراء وزير شؤون الرئاسة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة مركز خليفة للتقانات الحيوية والهندسة الوراثية سنة 2014. يركز الباحثون في مركز خليفة على دراسة النباتات الصحراوية في بيئة الإمارات لتوليد المعرفة العلمية وبالتالي مواجهة التحديات العالمية في قضية الأمن الغذائي وممارسة الزراعة المستدامة من خلال بحوث الجينوم والهندسة الوراثية، والابتكار في التقانات الحيوية. ويتم دعم المركز عن طريق التمويل المادي من وزارة شؤون الرئاسة.

رؤيتنا

 "الاستفادة من الأنظمة الجينية للنباتات كمسار لتطوير الزراعة في دولة الإمارات"

للمزيد

رسالتنا

" تحقيق الريادة في مجال الهندسة الوراثية والتقانات الحيوية للنباتات من خلال الاكتشاف والابتكار العلمي لإنتاج وتعديل النبات بسمات زراعية واقتصادية.

للمزيد

البحث

يركز الباحثون في مركز خليفة على تطوير محاصيل زراعية قادرة على تحمل الضغط البيئي في دولة الإمارات عن طريق توليد المعرفة العلمية والبحوث التطبيقية. كما يركز المركز على تطوير المحاصيل ذات صفات زراعية مرغوبة لزيادة القيمة الاقتصادية للمحاصيل المُنتجة في الدولة. 

طور المركز ثلاث منصات بحثية:

  • الهندسة الوراثية لتحسين المحاصيل الزراعية

  • علوم الجينوم والمعلوماتية الحيوية

  • البحوث التطبيقية لتحسين المحاصيل الزراعية 

للمزيد

 

المرافق والموارد الأساسية 

الفعاليات

الكل

أبرز الشخصيات

لقد قطع مركز خليفة للتقانات الحيوية والهندسة الوراثية شوطاً طويلاً منذ افتتاحه في عام 2014. بفضل دعم وتوجيهات سمو الشيخ منصور بن زايد آل نهيان نائب رئيس مجلس الوزراء وزير شؤون الرئاسة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة التي كان لها دور أساسي في تطوير ونجاح المركز بصورة فعالة. 

د. خالد الأميري

المدير، مركز خليفة للتقانات الحيوية والهندسة الوراثية 

تخرج الدكتور مارتن من جامعة كاليكوت في الهند عام 2001. وحصل على برنامج مرموق للزمالة البحثية (UKEIRI-India). كما أعد الدكتور مارتن أبحاثاً حول تحسين إنتاج المركبات الصيدلانية من النباتات الطبية باستخدام الأدوات الجزيئية في جامعة دو مونتفورت في المملكة المتحدة.

د. مارتن كوتكال

مشارك باحث أول 

 

انضمت الدكتورة لينغ إلى مركز خليفة للتقانات الحيوية والهندسة الوراثية كباحث مشارك عام 2014. وحصلت على درجة بكالوريوس العلوم من جامعة ولاية أوهايو في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ودرجة الدكتوراه في علم الوراثة الجزيئية تحت إشراف الأستاذ الدكتور هارالد فايسن في جامعة ولاية أوهايو عام 2000.

د. لينج لي 

مشارك باحث أول 

 

انضم الدكتور راشد إلى مركز خليفة للتقانات الحيوية والهندسة الوراثية كباحث مشارك عام 2016. وقد عمل قبل انضمامه إلى المركز في جامعة كونيتيكت وجامعة جون هوبكنز في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية كزميل ما بعد الدكتوراه. كما عمل في المعهد الوطني للتقنيات الحيوية والهندسة الوراثية في باكستان كمسؤول علمي.

د. راشد علي 

أستاذ مساعد باحث 

 حصل الدكتور خالد هازوري على درجة الدكتوراه في علم الجينوم التطوري من جامعة تورنتو عام 2012. وقد عمل في بحث الدكتوراه على تطور نظام التزاوج في النباتات المزهرة والنتائج التي تترتب عليه من الناحية الجينية. كما عمل كباحث بارز في مختبر البروجانان في جامعة نيويورك أبو ظبي والذي يختص بدراسة التنوع الجيني وأصل شجرة النخيل بالإضافة إلى المتغيرات الجينية للتعدين في الطحالب الخضراء.
د. خالد هازوري

أستاذ مساعد باحث 

 


آخر تحديث للصفحة في    هذا الموقع يمكن تصفحه بالشكل المناسب من خلال شاشة 1024x768 يدعم مايكروسوفت انترنت اكسبلورر 9.0+، فاير فوكس 2.0+، سفاري 3+، جوجل كروم 12.0+

Sorry

There is no English content for this page

Sorry

There is a problem in the page you are trying to access.

Oct 22, 2018