United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
Global Star Rating System for services

ACCESSIBILITY OPTIONS

A A A eye

NIGHT READING

Langauge

 

Department of Government and Society

Overview

The Department of Government and Society is the home for two undergraduate programs (B.A. in Political Science and B.A. in Sociology) and one graduate program in Governance and Public Policy. The major in Political Science is designed to offer its students a broad education in political thought, comparative politics, international relations, and public policy. It prepares them for successful careers in areas of politics such as working as diplomats, researchers, and policy analysts. The major in Sociology is designed to equip its students in sociological fundamentals, and train them in analytical societal problem-solving and effective communication. Graduates of Sociology pursue many different kinds of careers, including working in public and private organizations.

The Department also offers minors in Political Science and Family Studies.

The Department is well placed to realize the various potentials of multidisciplinary approaches in scholarship and teaching. Faculty members have extensive research interests, and students stand to benefit from the opportunity to major in prospective interdisciplinary academic programs.

Mission and Vision

Mission

The Department is committed to:

  1. Producing highly skilled graduates who will be employed by government and private organisations and contribute to the continued development of UAE
  2. Playing a major role in the international academic arena through conducting rigorous and cutting-edge research
  3. Developing a range of interdisciplinary programmes taught by world-class faculty

Vision

To be an internationally-recognized academic department serving UAE’s sustainable development by providing innovative interdisciplinary undergraduate and graduate programs and pursuing both fundamental and applied research in the fields of government and society.

Academic Programs

 

Faculty

Note: If calling from outside the UAEU organization, dial (+971 3 713) before the extension.

Name Position Email Ext.

Dr. Suaad Al Oraimi

Associate Professor and Chair

s.aloraimi@uaeu.ac.ae

5030

Prof. Mohamed Bin Huwaidin Professor mohd.hwaiden@uaeu.ac.ae 5017

Dr. Ali Alghafli

Associate Professor and 
Vice Dean
ali.alghafli@uaeu.ac.ae  6499 

Prof. Maryem Lootah  

Professor

maryam.lotah@uaeu.ac.ae 

5019

Prof. Branislav Radeljic

Professor

radeljic@uaeu.ac.ae

5016

Dr. Mahmoud Naamneh

Associate Professor

mahmoud.naamneh@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Dr. Madalla Alibeli

Associate Professor

madalla.a@uaeu.ac.ae 5014 

Dr. Scott Walker

Associate Professor

scott.walker@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Dr. Abdulfattah Yaghi

Associate Professor

abdulfattah@uaeu.ac.ae  

5018

Dr. Osman Antwi-Boateng

Associate Professor

o.boateng@uaeu.ac.ae   5024 

Dr. Tatiana Karabchuk

Associate Professor tkarabchuk@uaeu.ac.ae 6468 
Dr. Gareth Davey Associate Professor garethdavey@uaeu.ac.ae -

Dr. Anne Bartlett

Associate Professor

annebartlett@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Dr. Paul O'Connor

Associate Professor

pauloconnor1978@uaeu.ac.ae

6448

Dr. Sumaia AlKohlani

Associate Professor 

salkohlani@uaeu.ac.ae

5037

Dr. Aqil Abdulfattah

Assistant Professor

a.kazim@uaeu.ac.ae  

5013

Dr. Aigul Zabirova

Assistant Professor

aigul@uaeu.ac.ae

5071

Dr. Maxime Jaffre

Assistant Professor

mjaffre@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Dr. Ibtisam Al Kitbi

Assistant Professor

ekitbi@uaeu.ac.ae  

5021

Dr. Mohammed Aljanahi

Assistant Professor

m.aljanahi@uaeu.ac.ae

5022

Dr. Ali H. Al Hbabi

Assistant Professor

ali_alhbabi@uaeu.ac.ae

Dr. Ebtesam Al Teneiji

Assistant Professor

ebtesam.alteneiji@uaeu.ac.ae 5054

General Enquiries

Thank you for your interest in the Department of Government and Society. We welcome your query and encourage you to contact us using the information below:

College of Humanities and Social Sciences,
United Arab Emirates University,
P.O. Box 15551, Al Ain, UAE 

Phone: +971 3 713 6427
Phone: +971 3 713 6498
Fax: +971 3 713 4978 
Email: sociology@uaeu.ac.ae
Email: political@uaeu.ac.ae

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Jan 19, 2023