United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
Global Star Rating System for services

ACCESSIBILITY OPTIONS

A A A eye

NIGHT READING

Langauge

 

Department of Media and Creative Industries

Overview

The Department of Media and Creative Industries started life as a Mass Communication Department that was formally launched in 1981. Today, the Department of Media and Creative Industries is among the main academic units within the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

The academic programs offered by the Department are designed to equip students with competencies, skills and critical thinking to be functional professionals in the contemporary work environment in the UAE and globally.

Our Media and Communication Studies program has three specializations in Journalism, Broadcasting and Public Relations while the Visual Studies and Creative Industries program has specializations in Visual Studies and Digital Video Production that are predicated on a synergy between creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship.

Our very dynamic faculty have diverse teaching and research profiles in areas such as digital media and society, media and information literacy, media and identity, media and conflict, media and gender, new media and digital cultures, media management, globalization and international communication, media convergence and on-line journalism, strategic communication, branding and e-governance etc. Faculty in the Creative Industries have successful careers as painters, sculptors, photographers and designers who have exhibited internationally and have taught in institutions around the world.

Mission

The mission of the Department is to train and produce highly competent graduates with requisite skills to become successful professionals and responsive citizens in the increasingly complex field of media and creative industries, and who possess a broad-based knowledge of society acquired through a rich and diverse liberal arts education.

Facilities

The Department maintains three Mac labs that are fully equipped with software for newspaper and magazine production as well as for video editing. The television studio is fully equipped with state of the art facilities with capacity for full standard productions. The Department also has studios for drying, painting and 3D design.

Academic Programs

 

Faculty

Note: If calling from outside the UAEU organization, dial (+971 3 713) before the extension.

Name Position Email Ext.

Dr. Ahmed S. Mansoori

Assistant Professor, Chair

a.mansoori@uaeu.ac.ae

6425

Prof. Ali Noor Mohamed

Professor

ali_m@uaeu.ac.ae

6442

Prof. Badreya Al Jenaibi

Professor

aljenaibi@uaeu.ac.ae

5059

Dr. Maha Bashri

Associate Professor

maha.bashri@uaeu.ac.ae

6496

Dr. Ayo Oyeleye

Associate Professor

ayo.oyeleye@uaeu.ac.ae

6424

Dr. Sameera Tahira Ahmed

Associate Professor

stahmed@uaeu.ac.ae

5009

Dr. Shujun Jiang

Associate Professor  shujun.jiang@uaeu.ac.ae  5088 

Dr. Muhammed Musa

Associate Professor

mu.musa@uaeu.ac.ae

4081

Dr. Ali Rafeeq

Associate Professor alirafeeq@uaeu.ac.ae 5055

Dr. Khalaf Tahat

Assistant Professor

k.tahat@uaeu.ac.ae

6480

Mr. Ahmed Nori

Instructor

ahmed.nori@uaeu.ac.ae

5057

Ms. Queentali Thokchom

Instructor

queentali@uaeu.ac.ae

5086

Mr. Michael E. Walter

Instructor

walterm@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Ms. Stacey Kalkowski

Instructor, Fine Arts staceykalkowski@uaeu.ac.ae  6436
Ms. Sarah Willard Instructor sarah.willard@uaeu.ac.ae  -
Mr. Toomas Altnurme Instructor toomas.a@uaeu.ac.ae 5075 
Ms. Aysha Ayaz Instructor ayshaayaz@uaeu.ac.ae -
Mr. Islam Hasan Instructor islam.nasib@uaeu.ac.ae -

General Enquiries

Thank you for your interest in the Media and Creative Industries Department. We welcome your query and encourage you to contact us using the information below:

College of Humanities and Social Sciences, 
United Arab Emirates University, 
P.O. Box 15551, Al Ain, UAE

Phone: +971 3 713 6458 
Fax: +971 3 713 4978 
Email: masscomm@uaeu.ac.ae

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Oct 5, 2022