United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
Global Star Rating System for services

ACCESSIBILITY OPTIONS

A A A eye

NIGHT READING

Langauge

 

Department of Cognitive Sciences

Overview

Cognitive Sciences is the inter-disciplinary study of the mind. The Cognitive Sciences department at UAEU is based around the traditional core subjects of Psychology, Linguistics and Philosophy. We offer a range of degrees and courses that offer students a huge variety of different perspectives on the human mind and behavior, including: Neuroscience, Artificial Intelligence & Robotics, Psychiatry, Computer Science, Logic, Evolutionary Theory and much more.

We aim to equip students with the knowledge and skills to understand human motivations and decisions, so that they can make innovative contributions and connections within a great variety of different industries and professions. As well as offering specialised majors in Psychology and Linguistics, the department also offers minors in Cognitive Science, Aphasia, and in Citizenship. 

Mission

The Cognitive Sciences Department aims to provide the highest standard of education, at both undergraduate and graduate levels, by challenging students to investigate the human mind and human language from many different perspectives, using many different scientific and conceptual tools, whilst always encouraging them to ask big, foundational questions and to exercise their skills in critical and ethical thinking.

The department is home to many active flourishing research programs, funded from both external grants and internal sources. Through our teaching and research we ultimately aim to equip students to make valuable contributions to organizations and communities throughout the U.A.E. – hence we are committed to offering internship opportunities for students in a wide range of different institutions and companies.

Facilities

The department of Cognitive Sciences is blessed with a number of state-of-the-art laboratories and facilities.

The Interdisciplinary Cognitive Sciences Laboratory is equipped with a portable dynamic EEG system with 32 active electrodes, a programmable humanoid robot (NAO), programmable LEGO Mindstorm construction sets, interactive multi-media and gaming devices and smart-board facilities. There are also Windows and Mac enabled computers equipped with software for EEG signal acquisition and analysis, statistical analysis, experimental design and stimulus-presentation. There are both digital and physical bibliographical resources dedicated to theoretical and applied cognitive sciences.

For the study of linguistics, the Neuro-linguistics Laboratory is equipped with an EEG machine. There is also an eye-tracking laboratory, a psycholinguistics laboratory and a phonetics laboratory.

The Behavioural Neuroscience Laboratory features such facilities as: ELISA Reader (enzyme-linked immunoabsorbent assay), Berma Snow Flaker (for keeping biological samples at low temperatures), WiSD Autoclave machine, CO2 microbial incubator, Fluorescent Microscope, and many more.

Academic Programs

 

Faculty

Note: If calling from outside the UAEU organization, dial (+971 3 713) before the extension.

Name Position Email Ext.

Dr. Martin Endley

Associate Professor, Chair martinjendley@uaeu.ac.ae 4071

Prof. Ahmed Alnajjar

Professor
Assistant Dean for Research 
& Graduate Studies 
alnajjar@uaeu.ac.ae 6476 

Prof. Hamzeh Dodeen  

Professor 

hdodeen@uaeu.ac.ae  

6478

Prof. Sami Boudelaa

Professor

s.boudelaa@uaeu.ac.ae 6178 

Prof. Abduljaleel Al Wali

Professor

abdeljelil.kazem@uaeu.ac.ae

5067

Prof. Tommi Leung

Professor leung@uaeu.ac.ae 4073

Dr. Meera Kaabi

Associate Professor M_Alkaabi@UAEU.AC.AE 5029 

Dr. Phillip Meadows

Associate Professor p.j.meadows@uaeu.ac.ae 

Dr. Daniele Mezzadri

Associate Professor  d.mezzadri@uaeu.ac.ae 5069

Dr. Fatma Zohra Sai

Associate Professor

f.zohra@uaeu.ac.ae

6474

Dr. Yahya Nassar

Associate Professor 

yanassar1007@uaeu.ac.ae

6455

Dr. Abdullah Saif  

Associate Professor

aabdullah@uaeu.ac.ae  

6487

Dr. Mohammed Elhammoumi

Associate Professor

elhammoumim@uaeu.ac.ae

6410

Dr. Khaled Karim

Associate Professor khaledk@uaeu.ac.ae 6427

Dr. Hosni El-Dali

Associate Professor

hasan.mostafa@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Dr. Simon Langford

Associate Professor

simon.langford@uaeu.ac.ae 5044

Dr. Bryan Frances

Associate Professor bryan.frances@uaeu.ac.ae -

Dr. Ian Grey

Associate Professor

Ian.grey@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Dr. Brettjet Cody

Associate Professor

brettjet.cody@uaeu.ac.ae

6470

Dr. Gunjan Khera 

Assistant Professor

gunjan_khera@uaeu.ac.ae  

5085

Dr. Anton Yasnitsky

Assistant Professor

anton.yasnitsky@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Dr. Marina Marren

Assistant Professor

mmarren@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Dr. Mariana Coutinho

Assistant Professor

mariana.coutinho@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Dr. Sara Al Aleeli

Assistant Professor

salalili@uaeu.ac.ae

6213

Mr. Abdel Hameed Darweish

Instructor 

abdelhameed.mohd@uaeu.ac.ae

6484

Mr.Taregh Shaban

Instructor 

taregh.shaban@uaeu.ac.ae

5065

Ms. Mervat Ijha

Instructor

m.ijha@uaeu.ac.ae

6413

General Enquiries

Thank you for your interest in the Cognitive Science Department. We welcome your query and encourage you to contact us using the information below:

College of Humanities and Social Sciences,
United Arab Emirates University,
P.O. Box 15551, Al Ain, UAE 

Phone: +971 3 713 6470
Email: psychology@uaeu.ac.ae
Email: Linguistics@uaeu.ac.ae

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Jan 18, 2023