Scroll Back to Top
United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE

Settings

A A A eye

Night Reading

Langauge

Translate this page to

The UAEU is not responsible for the translation output by google.
accessibility

Department of Chemistry

Overview

The Chemistry Department was established in 1979 and has since developed a full-fledged teaching and research program. The Department offers undergraduate and graduate degrees, including B.Sc. in Chemistry, B.Sc. in Biochemistry, M.Sc. in Chemistry and Ph.D. in Chemistry.

The B.Sc. in Chemistry is firmly established and enjoys renewed accreditation by both the Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC, since 2007) and the UK Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC, since 2011). Given our firm and continued commitment to uphold our teaching standards, both accreditation institutes qualified us as a strong department . The B.Sc. in Chemistry and Biochemistry programs are based on European and North American standards and are becoming increasingly popular among students. Our students have access to effective instruction, excellent lab facilities and practical training. Lectures and labs are conducted using the latest smart learning technologies. The curriculum of the B.Sc. degrees in Chemistry and Biochemistry include a total of 54 credit hours of Chemistry courses.

The COVID-19 pandemic has been an opportunity for the Department to look at teaching in a different perspective. Our teaching methods have been remarkably adapted to suit the needs of our students. The Chemistry Department faculty, instructors, and staff showed extraordinary flexibility in embracing online teaching. Both undergraduate and graduate courses were adapted to online course delivery and comply with international standard and accreditation bodies. All practical labs are conducted face-to-face while maintaining all safety and health precautions. Some virtual laboratory sessions were successfully developed and could be deployed in case of emergency.

In addition to instruction, our faculty members also devote much of their time to both basic and applied research. Over the years, the Chemistry Department has acquired various instruments to cater for the research and teaching needs of both our faculty and students. We have trained many undergraduate students through a Research Project course as well as the Undergraduate Summer Research Experience (SURE) program and other extra-curricular research opportunities. Our thesis-based MSc and PhD programs are burgeoning, and we currently have over 30 post-graduate students. The research covers all major disciplines of Chemistry, both basic and applied. The recent research collaboration between UAEU and University of California, Berkeley (UCB) will further boost our research capability and expertise. In this regard, we have and will continue to recruit new faculty members and acquire new instruments to improve the research capability of the Department.  The department research labs are equipped with state-of-the-art instruments that serve the researchers in the College of Science and other colleges.

Moreover, the Chemistry Department is active in promoting science in the UAE community through lectures, school visits, and a wide range of other different activities.

Our continued success is attributed to the dedication of our faculty, resourceful departmental staff, and supportive UAEU administration.

Vision

Internationally recognized in chemistry education and innovative research and positive contributor to the knowledge-based economy of UAE.

Mission

Delivering undergraduate and graduate quality chemical education, advancing chemical sciences and serving the UAE community.

Goals

  • To produce qualified graduates in the areas of Chemistry and Biochemistry.
  • To provide expertise to meet the needs of the local government, industry, and society.
  • To adapt the curricula to meet  the demands of a dynamic market.
  • To  sustain the international accreditation of the undergraduate program and standards of quality assurance through a process of continuous development and review.
  • To recruit and retain highly qualified faculty and staff and to ensure continuous professional development.
  • To provide service to other academic programs in the university.

Facilities

The Department of Chemistry is extremely well-equipped to allow active research in all areas of chemistry. Housed at the newly built multi-million dollar Laboratories Complex (F2), it s three floors have modern teaching labs, research labs, a computer lab, and fully-equipped central labs with modern instruments. Click here to learn more about the list of available instruments.

Academic Programs

 

Faculty

Note: If calling from outside the UAEU organization, dial (+971 3 713) before the extension.

Name Position Email Ext.
Abbas Khalil, PhD

Professor, Chairman of the Department

abbask@uaeu.ac.ae

6147/ 6142

Alaa Salem, PhD Professor asalem@uaeu.ac.ae

6120/

6747

Mohamad Toutounji, PhD

Professor

mtoutounji@uaeu.ac.ae

6146

Sayed A. Marzouk, PhD

Professor

sayedm@uaeu.ac.ae

6149

Thies Thiemann, PhD

Professor

thies@uaeu.ac.ae

6121

Yaser Greish, PhD 

Professor

y.afifi@uaeu.ac.ae

6141

Mohammed Meetani, PhD

Professor

mmeetani@uaeu.ac.ae 

6136

Na’il Ibrahim Saleh, PhD 

Professor

n.saleh@uaeu.ac.ae 

6138

Iltaf Shah, PhD

Associate Professor

altafshah@uaeu.ac.ae 

5180

Mohamed Khasawneh, PhD 

Associate Professor

mohammad.khasawneh@uaeu.ac.ae

6135

Muna Bufaroosha, PhD

Associate Professor

muna.bufaroosha@uaeu.ac.ae

6137

M.Kalim Akhtar, PhD

Associate Professor

mk.akhtar@uaeu.ac.ae

6133

Soleiman Hisaindee, PhD

Associate Professor

soleiman.hisaindee@uaeu.ac.ae 

6140

Ziad Moussa, PhD

Associate Professor

zmoussa@uaeu.ac.ae

5396

Alejandro Perez, PhD

Associate Professor

aperez@uaeu.ac.ae

6139

Fathy M. Hassan, PhD

Associate Professor

f.hassan@uaeu.ac.ae

6166

Nayla Munawar, PhD

Associate Professor

nmunawar@uaeu.ac.ae

6168

Ahmed Saeed Al-Shamsi, PhD

Assistant Professor

a.alshamsi@uaeu.ac.ae

6131

Abdulla Mahboob, PhD

Assistant Professor

Abdulla.Mahboob@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Salem Al Dhaheri, PhD

Adjunct Faculty

smsarri@uaeu.ac.ae

6162

Abdelouahid Samadi, PhD

Assistant Professor

samadi@uaeu.ac.ae

4656

Shaikha Saif Alneyadi, PhD

Assistant Professor

shaikha.alneyadi@uaeu.ac.ae

6132

Mohamed Qenawy

Assistant Professor

moabdellah@uaeu.ac.ae

6158

Sameer Mirza

Assistant Professor

sameermirza@uaeu.ac.ae

6387

Yasir Raouf

Assistant Professor

yasir.raouf@uaeu.ac.ae

6383

Mohamed Abohalawa, PhD

Visiting Assistant Professor

mohamedhalawa@uaeu.ac.ae

6176

Hesham Abdelrehim

Visiting Faculty

habdelrehim@uaeu.ac.ae

6197

Ahmed Mustafa Ahmad

Visiting Faculty

mansour_am@uaeu.ac.ae

6175

Saber Abdul Hamid, PhD

Instructor

s.Abdulhamid@uaeu.ac.ae

6403

Laya Rajendran, PhD

Instructor

laya.rajendrah@uaeu.ac.ae

6745

Ahmed Alhamadat, PhD

Instructor

ahmed.alhamadat@uaeu.ac.ae

6160

Ayman Nawwaf  Alsayyed, PhD

Instructor

aymannawwaf@uaeu.ac.ae

6167

Dyana Ambrose, PhD

Instructor

dyana.merline@uaeu.ac.ae

6150

Joanna Grazyna Pajak, PhD

Instructor

Joanna.G@uaeu.ac.ae

6306

Rakesh Rajagopalan, PhD

Instructor

rakpalan@uaeu.ac.ae

6168

Abdallah Abu Namous, PhD

Instructor

a.jamal@uaeu.ac.ae

6756

Mahmoud Abdellatif, PhD

Instructor

mahmoudkorani@uaeu.ac.ae

6317

Mahmoud ElSafadi

Instructor

mahmoudelsafadi@uaeu.ac.ae

6361

Muhammad Qasim

Instructor

m.qasim@uaeu.ac.ae

 

Noura Alshamsi

Instructor

nouraalshamsi@uaeu.ac.ae

6378

Staff

Name Position Email Ext.

Ms. Moza Nasser Al Khaili

Senior Academic Assistant

moza.alkhaili@uaeu.ac.ae

6126

Ms. Moza Rashed Al Zaabi

Senior Academic Assistant

mzaabie@uaeu.ac.ae

6127

Ms. Zahra Salem Al Badi 

Academic Specialist I

z.salem@uaeu.ac.ae

6129

Ms. Ruwaya Al Nuaimi

Academic Specialist I

r.alnaimi@uaeu.ac.ae

6128

Ms. Mariam Humaid Al Shamisi

Academic Specialist I

m.alshamisi@uaeu.ac.ae

6124

Ms. Mariam Nasser Al Saedi

Academic Specialist I

malsaedi@uaeu.ac.ae

6125

Ms. Sharefa Al Maqdi

Academic Specialist I

sharefaA@uaeu.ac.ae

6130

Ms. Noura Humaid Alshamsi

Academic Specialist I

nouraalshamsi@uaeu.ac.ae

6378

Ms. Leena Al-Kaabi 

Laboratory Specialist I

l.ali@uaeu.ac.ae

6156

Ms. Afra Ghareeb Al Blooshi

Laboratory Specialist I

aalblooshi@uaeu.ac.ae

6154

Ms. Mariam Al-Kayoumi

Laboratory Specialist I

m.alkayoumi@uaeu.ac.ae

6157

Ms. Khaula Ahmed Al Jahoushi

Laboratory Specialist I

khaula.a@uaeu.ac.ae

6377

Amal Alshamsi

Laboratory Specialist I

amal_alshamsi@uaeu.ac.ae 

 

Mr. Bassam Al Hindawi

Laboratory Specialist

bassamh@uaeu.ac.ae

6155

Mr. Vijo Poulose

Laboratory Specialist

vijo.p@uaeu.ac.ae

6350

Ms. Khaula Amer Al Shamsi

Admin I

Khawla.amer@uaeu.ac.ae

6159

 

 

General Enquiries

Thank you for your interest in the Chemistry Department. We welcome your query and encourage you to contact us using the information below:

United Arab Emirates University, 
College of Science,

P.O.Box: 15551, Al Ain, UAE
Phone: +971 3 713 6159 
Email: chemistry@uaeu.ac.ae

 

United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Jun 10, 2024