United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
United Arab Emirates University (UAEU) - Best University in Abu Dhabi, UAE
Global Star Rating System for services

ACCESSIBILITY OPTIONS

A A A eye

NIGHT READING

Langauge

 

Department of Languages and Literature

Overview


The Department of Languages and Literature offers interdisciplinary undergraduate as well as graduate programs in the disciplines of English Language and Literature and Translation Studies.

Students enrolled in the English Program study clusters of well-designed courses leading to the mastery of top-level skills integral to English Language and Literature. Students also study courses in criticism and may also study other languages (for example, French, German, Spanish, Chinese or Korean), or they may concentrate on performing arts (Drama and Film Studies).

Students who select the Translation Studies Program study a variety of newly developed and non-traditional courses in written and oral translation, with a focus on courses that meet the requirements of the work-market. Students must also study a third language other than English and Arabic (for example, French, German, Spanish, Chinese or Korean).

Mission

Our mission is to equip our graduates with skills that enhance their competencies in philology, translation, interpreting, and creative expression to meet the requirements of job markets and stakeholders, both nationally and internationally.

Facilities

The Department of Languages and Literature is equipped with a state-of-art translation lab and English lab.

Academic Programs

Faculty

Note: If calling from outside the UAEU organization, dial (+971 3 713) before the extension.

Name Position Email Ext.

Dr. Mozah Tenaijy

Assistant Professor, Chair

mozah.o@uaeu.ac.ae

6459

Prof. Manfred Malzahn

Professor

mmalzahn@uaeu.ac.ae

6418

Prof. Paul Innes

Professor

paul.innes@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Dr. Doris Hambuch

Associate Professor

Hambuchd@uaeu.ac.ae

5047

Dr. Marlene Allen

Associate Professor

marlene_allen@uaeu.ac.ae -

Dr. Hala Sharkas

Associate Professor

hsharkas@uaeu.ac.ae

5061

Dr. Jamal Mohamed

Associate Professor j.giaber@uaeu.ac.ae  5063

Dr Mohammed AlBatineh

Associate Professor m_batineh@uaeu.ac.ae -

Dr. Amna Al Ahbabi

Assistant Professor amna_alahbabi@UAEU.AC.AE 5089

Dr. Ghadeir Alkindi

Assistant Professor

gkendi@uaeu.ac.ae  -

Dr. Mohammed Zagood

Assistant Professor

mjmzagood@uaeu.ac.ae

5049

Dr. Raja Lahiani

Assistant Professor

raja.lahiani@uaeu.ac.ae

5048

Dr. Fatima Alblooshi

Assistant Professor

f.alblooshi@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Ms. Mary Donnenworth

Instructor

marytee@uaeu.ac.ae

5052

Mr. Basil Muir  

Instructor

b.muir@uaeu.ac.ae 

5053

Ms. Mary Rita

Instructor

rmacdonagh@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Mr. Edward R. Carlstedt

Instructor

ecarlstedt@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Mrs. Ulrike Wantig

Instructor

uwaentig@uaeu.ac.ae

6456

Ms. Jihye Kim

Instructor, Korean Language

jihye@uaeu.ac.ae

6456

Mr. Derek Brown

Instructor

derek.b@uaeu.ac.ae

6084

Mr. Ricardo Mateos

Instructor

rroque@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Mr. Andrej Fajgelj

Instructor

afajgelj@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Ms. Theresa Beadle

Instructor

beadlet@uaeu.ac.ae

-

Ms. Mai Nourelhuda

Instructor

mai.n@uaeu.ac.ae

-

General Enquiries

Thank you for your interest in the Department of Languages and Literature . We welcome your query and encourage you to contact us using the information below:

College of Humanities and Social Sciences,
United Arab Emirates University,
P.O. Box 15551, Al Ain, UAE 

Phone: +971 3 713 6412
Email: English@uaeu.ac.ae

عفوا

لايوجد محتوى عربي لهذه الصفحة

عفوا

يوجد مشكلة في الصفحة التي تحاول الوصول إليها

Nov 14, 2022